Le Cellier Review

Walt Disney World May 2012 930

Le Cellier is one of the most popular restaurants at Walt Disney World, and it has a legion of fans. In this post, we’ll look at whether Le Cellier is one of Epcot’s best restaurants or if it fails to live up to the hype. We’ll also share food photos from our various meals here and perspective on value for money (or Dining Plan credits).

We can understand the appeal of Le Cellier: the delicious meats of Canada beckon carnivores like us from opposite ends of the park. We typically pay out of pocket when dining here, as this restaurant is not a good value on the Disney Dining Plan because it requires two credits. Le Cellier is located in Epcot’s World Showcase in the Canada pavilion. Le Cellier participates in the Disney Dining Plan. It also accepts the Tables in Wonderland card for a 20% discount.

We last dined at Le Cellier a couple of years ago, and changes to Le Cellier’s status (it’s now a Signature Restaurant for both lunch and dinner, and has one single menu so you can’t choose less expensive options for lunch) have caused us to revise our stance on Le Cellier. We aren’t the only ones who think Le Cellier is overrated, which is quite the shift from about 5 years ago when Le Cellier was the darling of the Disney fan community and one of the hottest restaurants at Walt Disney World. However, after years of being down on Le Cellier, we finally revisited it in May 2017…

We were pleasantly surprised by our experience. We still question whether it’s worth the 2-credits for lunch, but it has definitely improved since our last visit. As we shared in our Le Cellier Without Breaking the Bank” post, our goal with that meal was to test the waters by doing a less-expensive meal. That experience convinced us that it’s time to give Le Cellier another chance. Perhaps we should go ‘all in’ and even order the $100+ Porterhouse Steak for Two! 😉

Suffice to say, Le Cellier is still a good restaurant. It’s not one of the best in Walt Disney World, and whether it’s Signature caliber is probably is a matter of perspective. As far as cuisine goes, my biggest issue with Le Cellier is that I think the food, especially the steaks, is often over-salted and over-buttered.

This isn’t always an issue, but it sometimes happens. That is enough to knock it down a rung for me. Beyond that, the food is generally good, it’s just not as good as other Signature Restaurants. For example, the nearby Yachtsman Steakhouse trounces Le Cellier as far as Walt Disney World steakhouses go.

As far as theme goes, Le Cellier feels like a steakhouse you’d find in Canada. While the lighting and decor of the restaurant are fabulous, the spacing of the tables leaves a bit to be desired–but it’s not as bad in Le Cellier as in other restaurants. It’s also nice that Le Cellier’s theming isn’t simply a caricature of Canada.

It doesn’t feel like a rustic lodge, there aren’t antlers in all of the decorating, and the carpet isn’t red and black flannel. The ambiance is actually one of our favorite aspects of Le Cellier, and we enjoy it so much that we named Le Cellier as one of our most romantic Walt Disney World restaurants.

Walt Disney World May 2012 927

Being overrated is relative, and my stance is that in comparison to its actual quality, the popular opinion of it (at least as expressed in the Disney online community), and more importantly, the restaurant’s pricing, is a little too high. People gush over it (albeit not as many as used to) and it’s the restaurant I most frequently see ranked among Walt Disney World’s, but for me it just doesn’t live up to the hype, all things considered.

It is a good restaurant, no doubt, and the service is great, but there are some better restaurants at Walt Disney World, especially at Le Cellier’s price points. I think a big part of Le Cellier’s reputation is premised upon the value it used to offer on the Disney Dining Plan.

Walt Disney World May 2012 923

It used to be a great value on the Disney Dining Plan, and an incredibly difficult reservation to land. Much of its reputation was predicated upon these facts, and it retains some popularity as a result of that. However, changes to the Disney Dining Plan and price increases at Le Cellier have decreased its relative value, and without that value, there’s really no reason to rank it so highly. There are at least 10 restaurants at Walt Disney World that are better than Le Cellier–probably more like 15-20, actually.

This is not to say that Le Cellier is bad. It’s still a very good restaurant, and has great options for appetizers (the Canadian Cheddar Cheese Soup is universally loved), entrees,  and desserts. Beyond that, the bread service is excellent, and Le Cellier is a beer-lover’s paradise with several great options from Unibroue.

Our Le Cellier servers have always been exceptional and very knowledgeable regarding the different entrees. It’s nice to have servers who are actually willing to make a recommendation instead of indecisively saying “they’re all good.” Le Cellier can be a bit crowded, but the service team is used to this; we have never had a bad meal at Le Cellier.

One one occasion, our server offered descriptions of the beers that actually persuaded us to each try one, when initially we were unsure of whether any of them sounded good. He really was a great salesman for the restaurant. The beer, which came out first, was delicious. I had the Trois Pistoles and Sarah had the Blanche de Chambly; mine was a darker, heavy beer yet one with fruity and spicy tastes, Sarah’s was a lighter, hopsy and somewhat lemon or orangy beer.

Walt Disney World May 2012 924

Interestingly enough, Unibroue has become one of our favorite breweries since first trying it at Le Cellier many moons ago. (It’s also now served outside of the restaurant at the beer stand and is our top pick for Drinking Around the World at Epcot.)

Following the beer came the bread, which is something so good that Sarah remembered it from a previous trip. While I love some good bread and butter, I don’t think I’d remember it for that long. That alone speaks volumes about this bread. We think the pretzel bread is the best.

While we have sample a variety of entrees at Le Cellier, the one I keep coming back to is the New York Strip Steak. I am always tempted by the filet, especially with those mushrooms, but the larger, slightly more marbled cut is more up my alley. I really like the taste of a good NY Strip, especially if it’s seasoned well. I enjoy a good filet, too, but I’ll take the size combined with the taste of a strip over a filet most any day.

I’ve had many New York Strip Steaks at Walt Disney World, and while Le Cellier can serve an excellent one, it’s far from consistently the best. Same goes for the filet. It’s not that Le Cellier does either of these cuts poorly–they’re quite good–they’re just not as good as some of the other steaks at Walt Disney World.

As far as desserts at Le Cellier go, my favorite is the Maple Créme Brulée.

This ranks right up there with the best desserts at Walt Disney World, in my opinion.

Walt Disney World May 2012 945

We’ve tried a variety of other desserts at Le Cellier, but once I discovered that Maple Créme Brulée, it’s the dessert I have always gotten since.

Sarah really likes the Le Cellier Mount Blanc Semifreddo, too. Based on our experience, you really can’t go wrong with any of the Le Cellier desserts. The dessert menu changes at Le Cellier, with one of the only constants being that Maple Créme Brulée (for good reason!).

Walt Disney World May 2012 946

Overall, I think Le Cellier is a very good restaurant, but I think much of its reputation is built upon internet hype and scarcity of reservations. When Le Cellier became a full-time Signature Restaurant, that was probably the last straw for us of it losing its luster. If we’re on the Disney Dining Plan, it’s not better than other Signature Restaurants to justify using the credits, and if we’re paying out of pocket, the prices have been inflated such that’s also not worth it from that perspective. It’s definitely a solid restaurant, but I don’t think it compares with any of the Signature restaurants we’ve visited (and dinner at Le Cellier is now considered a Signature meal).

Anyone willing to spend the money or Dining Plan credits will find a good restaurant in Le Cellier. The meats aren’t the only great things at Le Cellier, as the desserts and beer selection at Le Cellier are also fabulous. I know all of this seems like praise given my “overrated” stance, but this restaurant is frequently cited as the best restaurant in Walt Disney World, and that is not the case, in my opinion. It’s a good option, but certainly not a place to visit every trip.

Want more dining tips? Check out our 101 Delicious Walt Disney World Dining Tips. For where to eat, read our Walt Disney World Restaurant Reviews. For comprehensive advice, the best place to start is our Walt Disney World Trip Planning Guide for everything you need to know!

Your Thoughts…

If you’ve been to Le Cellier recently, do you think it lived up to the hype? Do you think it’s one of the best Walt Disney World restaurants, or have you had better steak at Walt Disney World? What about the atmosphere at Le Cellier? Are you planning on going? Hearing from readers is half the fun, so please share your experience at Le Cellier in the comments below!


64 Responses to “Le Cellier Review”
  1. Caitie May 21, 2017
  2. Duane March 11, 2017
  3. Ryan January 25, 2017
  4. C February 22, 2016
  5. Joel September 15, 2015
  6. Larruper September 7, 2015
  7. Stephanie July 31, 2015
  8. Terri September 23, 2014

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *