Tables In Wonderland Card Info & Tips

Tables in Wonderland is a great money-saving card for regular Walt Disney World restaurant patrons who are Florida residents, Annual Passholders, or DVC members. This post reviews the discount, how it compares to the Disney Dining Plan, and offers info & tips. (Updated July 27, 2020.)

The Tables in Wonderland (TiW) card offers a 20% discount off all food and beverage (including alcohol) for up to 10 people at most table-service Walt Disney World restaurants. An 18% gratuity is added to all TiW table service transactions, most parties are tipping at or around 18% anyway, so it’s not merely a 2% discount.

Tables in Wonderland is valid for a year from the month of purchase (as opposed to being valid for a calendar year), and it actually expires on the last day of the month one year from the month during which it is purchased. Meaning that if you purchased the Tables in Wonderland card on September 1, 2020, it would be valid until October 31, 2021. This means it essentially could be valid for ~13 months if you time it right. For 2020, TiW is valid even longer…

July 27, 2020 Update: Due to the closure of Walt Disney World, all Tables in Wonderland memberships–including those that expired while the parks & resorts were closed–have been extended for an additional 4 months beyond the printed date of expiration. This is automatic, and does not require action on the part of TiW cardholders. (The Tables in Wonderland office is closed, so you couldn’t contact them even if you wanted.)

Unfortunately, the downside is that Tables in Wonderland is currently valid at far fewer restaurants than normal simply because far fewer restaurants than normal are operating. See our List of Open & Closed In-Park Restaurants at Walt Disney World and our WDW Dining Know Before You Go Info page, which covers both the resort restaurants that are operational and Walt Disney World’s modified policies during the phased reopening of the parks and resorts.

Tables in Wonderland costs $150 for Annual Passholders and Disney Vacation Club members, and $175 for Florida residents. Note that if you aren’t a Florida Resident, Annual Passholder, or Disney Vacation Club Member, the program unfortunately is not open to you. I guess that means it’s time for you to move to Florida?! 😉

One of the normal downsides of Tables in Wonderland is that a lot of newer restaurants don’t accept it immediately. So, if you’re a local or regular who likes to dine at the latest restaurants in the parks or at Disney Springs, that’s a bit of a bummer. However, currently there are no new restaurants that do not accept TiW.

At present, all new restaurants do now accept Tables in Wonderland (when they’re open). This includes Topolino’s Terrace, Enchanted Rose Lounge, Jaleo by José Andrés, Terralina Crafted Italian, Barcelona Lounge, Dahlia Lounge, Three Bridges Bar & Grill, and Toledo – Tapas, Steak & Seafood. We love Jaleo, Three Bridges, and Toledo, so we’re happy to see all of these added to the list.

Hopefully, at some point in 2020 these restaurants are joined by other new and upcoming restaurants at Walt Disney World, including Topolino’s Terrace, Space 220 Restaurant, Takumi-Tei, Le Creperie de Paris, City Works Eatery & Pour House, Oga’s Cantina in Star Wars: Galaxy’s Edge, and Toy Story Land’s Roundup Rodeo BBQ Restaurant.

Unfortunately, Victoria & Albert’s no longer accepts Tables in Wonderland. There are also general blockout dates for all Tables in Wonderland locations: Mother’s Day, Easter Sunday, Independence Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day. On Tables in Wonderland block-out dates, there will be a charge for parking and valet services.

In addition to the 20% savings at Table Service restaurants, a Tables in Wonderland card entitles you to the following benefits:

  • complimentary valet (and standard) resort parking (if dining at the resort)
  • complimentary theme park parking after 5:00 pm (if dining at the park)
  • access to member-only special Food and Wine events, winemaker dinners, and celebrity chef dinners, and other events throughout the year

In addition to the above-mentioned blockout dates, it is also important to note that some Disney Springs restaurants don’t accept the card or only offer a 10% discount with it. Also, some Counter Service restaurants (Flame Tree BBQ, for the win!) offer a Tables in Wonderland discount.

As these restaurants change yearly based on the contracts signed with each restaurant, it’s best to refer to Disney’s Tables in Wonderland page before your trip to determine what discount you’ll receive at each restaurant you visit.

Before we get into the regular Tables in Wonderland review, we want to offer some thoughts on Annual Passholder and Disney Vacation Club discounts of 10% to 20% off at a some table service restaurants. There are not nearly as many restaurants offering 20% off AP/DVC discounts, but there are a decent number of restaurants.

The vast majority of table service restaurants that are offering AP or DVC discounts are only 10% off. Previously, many more were at 20%, which led us to not renew our Tables in Wonderland card a couple of years ago. However, those disappeared early last year, and have yet to return.

As such, we renewed our Tables in Wonderland card early last year, and will renew again soon if larger discounts do not appear. We dine at Walt Disney World table service restaurants with regularity, so that 10% difference is pretty significant for us.

You should do the math yourself to determine whether you’re better off with the “free” 10% off discount, or if it’s worth it to pay for the 20% off discount. Even with the AP and DVC discounts, if you’re a local and eat at Walt Disney World restaurants weekly, you still might want to get the Tables in Wonderland card.

Review

Since you could find the above information in a multitude of places online, I’m assuming you’ve come here for our thoughts on whether the Tables in Wonderland card is worth the money.

In light of the price of the Tables in Wonderland card and the discount offered, the break-even point for a Florida resident breaks is $875 at Table Service restaurants, and an Annual Passholder’s break-even point is $750 spent at Table Service restaurants. (Assuming no alternative discounts are available–if there are, the math obviously changes.)

If you’ve ever paid for Table Service restaurants at Walt Disney World out of pocket, you know that you can probably break-even within only a few meals. As such, most frequent guests to Walt Disney World who regularly dine at table service restaurants will get a good amount of savings out of the Tables in Wonderland card.

Still, you might be wondering how the Tables in Wonderland card compares to the Disney Dining Plan for saving money. My biggest criticism of the Disney Dining Plan is that it offers too much food for most people and is unnecessarily complicated. Nothing is as simple as paying out-of-pocket for the food you want, when and where you want it. The Tables in Wonderland Card works well for this “strategy.”

However, if the Disney Dining Plan (1 Table Service meal consisting of an entree, dessert, and drink, 1 Counter Service meal consisting of a combo, drink, and dessert, and 1 Snack per day for the standard plan) matches your eating habits, that might very well be better for you. For us, Tables in Wonderland works better because it allows us to “eat as we please.”

We can order an appetizer if we want, skip dessert, get 3 snacks per day, etc. We don’t feel as confined to a specific eating pattern and schedule with Tables in Wonderland. Unfortunately, there is no definitive answer as to which is better for your party, so doing the numbers based on your specific dining style is a must.

You may find that even if you’re a frequent user of the Disney Dining Plan, there still may be value in purchasing the Tables in Wonderland card if you eat at Walt Disney World restaurants enough. This is because the card can be used on alcohol and appetizers.

If would order these items with your Disney Dining Plan meals, and you eat enough appetizers or drink enough alcohol, you can come out ahead. Just think of it as an booze “rewards” card for Disney! Plus, since it’s accepted at some restaurants where the Disney Dining Plan is not, you can benefit by using it in these locations.

rose-crown-pub-epcot-world-showcase-008

Sarah and I actually first purchased Tables in Wonderland for a trip during which we’d be using the Disney Dining Plan! For our honeymoon, we wanted to experience Victoria & Albert’s and California Grill, in addition to using the Disney Dining Plan, but the former is not on the Dining Plan, and the latter offers poor value on the Dining Plan. Back then, Tables in Wonderland cost $75 (and this was not that long ago!) so it made complete sense to buy the card and use it a couple of days in lieu of the Dining Plan.

During those two days, we ate at Victoria & Albert’s, California Grill, and Beaches and Cream. The savings on our dinner at Victoria & Albert’s came close to paying for the card, with the savings at California Grill easily putting us “in the black” on Tables in Wonderland. We used the card again at Christmas, and again in May, and saved well over one-thousand dollars in those three trips by utilizing the card.

We have had it every year since, and seen the card gradually creep up in cost. Every year we have gotten enough value to justify the purchase (we do the math), but with the latest price increase making it cost $150 (for us as Disney Vacation Club members) after our last renewal, it’s going to be tough to justify buying it again. The break-even point is high, and as menu prices continue to rise to provide illusory value for the Disney Dining Plan, we find ourselves eating fewer and fewer table service meals.

Obviously, your mileage may vary on the Tables in Wonderland card, and you should really do the math to determine if it’s right for you. If you really love the table service restaurants at Walt Disney World, what’s better than an excuse to eat an extra meal at Flying Fish, Jiko, or Kona Cafe because you need to save more money?! 😉

Planning a Walt Disney World trip? If you’re interested in learning more about hotels, our Walt Disney World Hotels Reviews page is a good place to start. For where to eat, try out our Walt Disney World Restaurant Reviews page. If you want to save money on tickets or determine which type you should get, read our Tips for Saving Money on Walt Disney World Tickets post. OurWhat to Pack for Disney Trips post takes a unique look at unconventional things you should take on your trip. Once you arrive at the parks, our Walt Disney World “Ride Guides” are great for determining what to do and when to do it. For overviews of all of these topics and so much more, the best place to start is our comprehensive Walt Disney World Trip Planning Guide to make the most of your experience!

Your Thoughts

What do you think of the Tables in Wonderland Card? Is it worth the money for your traveling party, or do you go for the Disney Dining Plan (or something else) instead? Share your thoughts in the comments!


172 Responses to “Tables In Wonderland Card Info & Tips”
  1. Tiffany February 11, 2019
  2. Rob June 12, 2018
  3. Jennifer Kleparek May 3, 2018
  4. JMD April 19, 2018
    • Jennifer Kleparek May 3, 2018
    • Andy June 18, 2019
  5. Denise Bratcher January 24, 2018
    • Max February 15, 2018
    • Eileen September 13, 2018
  6. Kevin January 2, 2018
    • Becky March 10, 2018
    • ThoroughbredofSin March 14, 2018
    • Dan April 14, 2019
    • Jane April 17, 2019
  7. Melissa Colburn October 5, 2017
  8. Lissa August 8, 2017
    • Tom Bricker August 9, 2017
    • Melissa Colburn October 5, 2017
    • Suzanne October 20, 2017
    • Ann October 21, 2017
    • Renee February 9, 2018
    • Brian February 12, 2018
    • Cercyse February 8, 2019
  9. lynda February 21, 2017
  10. Mary January 7, 2017
    • Betsy February 1, 2017
    • Betsy February 1, 2017
    • Dolamyt February 26, 2017
  11. Vee November 25, 2016
    • Amy June 29, 2017
  12. Karen August 29, 2016
  13. Ashley July 24, 2016
    • Lauren V. September 5, 2016
  14. Arma June 5, 2016
  15. Cynthia Nash April 8, 2016
  16. Trent February 27, 2016
    • John March 3, 2016
    • Wendy B March 31, 2016
    • John August 17, 2016
    • Lauren V. September 5, 2016
    • Trent September 8, 2016
    • Mary January 7, 2017
  17. Mary Ellen February 3, 2016
    • Richard February 12, 2016
    • Wendy B March 31, 2016
  18. Wendy January 16, 2016
    • Mary Ellen February 3, 2016
  19. TSW November 22, 2015
  20. Holly November 8, 2015
    • Heather R. February 27, 2016
    • Jeffrey Toale March 18, 2016

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *