Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party 2014 Tips


Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party is a special hard ticket event held in the Magic Kingdom at Walt Disney World. For 2014, the party will be held on select nights in November and December on the following dates: November 7, 10, 13, 14, 16, 20, 21, 30; December 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 11, 12, 14, 16, 18, and 19. After December 19, the party entertainment will be available to all day guests (and included in theme park admission), but waiting until Christmas week also means going during the busiest time of the year, and when rooms and dining are most expensive. We will have a full schedule of the exact 2014 Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party dates once they are announced.

Here are our Christmas party tips for 2014, based upon our experiences attending the party for the last five years. The Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party 2013 schedule is now set, with parties starting in early November and continuing through December! Ticket prices will vary for 2014 based upon whether you purchase in advance or on the day of, are a child or adult, and whether you have an Annual Pass, Disney Vacation Club membership, or some other affiliation that entitles you to a discount. In any case, the event is not cheap, starting at $62 for children with advance purchase on select nights and exceeding $70 for adults on the “Premium” night! To purchase tickets, visit Disney’s Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party page.

That said, if you’re visiting Walt Disney World in November or December, Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party is an absolute must-do! But more on that later. First, let’s provide an overview of the events to those who haven’t been.


Overview

Here are the things that Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party includes, that are unique to the parties (at least for November 8th through December 20th):

  • Mickey’s Once Upon A Christmastime Parade (VIEW OUR PHOTOS)
  • A Totally Tomorrowland Christmas Show
  • Celebrate The Season Stage Show
  • Character Dance Parties (usually in the Golden Horseshoe and Cosmic Ray’s Starlight Cafe)
  • Holiday Wishes Fireworks
  • Disney character Meet and Greets with characters dressed in their holiday attire
  • Complimentary cookies and hot cocoa
  • Snow on Main Street

It’s worth noting that after December 19, 2014 through the remainder of the holiday season, the standard daytime parade in the Magic Kingdom becomes Mickey’s Once Upon a Christmastime Parade, and the Holiday Wishes fireworks are shown nightly. This entertainment is arguably 75% of the draw for Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party, but in exchange for not having to pay extra to see these things, you will face some of the worst crowds of the year after December 18th. If you want the best of both worlds, there are some other tricks you can use. So obviously there’s a trade-off! Now that we’ve set forth what entertainment you can expect at the parties, let’s give you some more details, tips, and our review!

Tips

Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party doesn’t offer as much entertainment or as many unique character meet & greets as Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party, so utilizing some sort of advance plan to maximize your time isn’t really necessary. You should be able to tour at a much more leisurely pace, and still experience everything.

Mickey’s Once Upon A Christmastime Parade – Given the excellent lighting, ambiance, oh, and SNOW on Main Street, USA, it’s one of the best places from which to view the parade (which steps off in Frontierland). We typically get a spot at the end of Main Street so the Castle is directly in front of us as we watch the parade. Most of the photos on this page were taken from that location, or near that location. You really must view this parade from Main Street. Nowhere else even begins to compare.

This is an absolutely awesome parade. Most people I know prefer the Boo to You parade over it, but I think I’m in the minority who prefers Mickey’s Once Upon A Christmastime Parade. It has marching toy soldiers, dancing reindeer and gingerbread men, and ever the big man himself, Ole Saint Nick! The floats are cool, Chip & Dale are mischievous, and Mickey & Minnie are dressed in their holiday finery. I will admit that I have a soft spot for anything related to Christmas, but c’mon, how could you not love this parade?!

As far as touring goes, the second parade is usually less crowded, but we always like to watch both showings of the parade, as it’s really that good. If you watch the second showing and really enjoy it, you can’t go back in time and watch the first, so you may want to consider watching the first if you think you might want to see it twice. If you know seeing it once will be sufficient, definitely skip the first showing in favor of the second.

A Totally Tomorrowland Christmas Show – 2010 marked our first time attending Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party since the Tomorrowland theatre had been razed, so it was our first party not seeing Mickey’s Twas the Night Before Christmas. Well…I can’t say I totally hated A Totally Tomorrowland Christmas. Actually, it wasn’t as bad as I’ve heard some people say it is. It’s cute, and Stitch is not super annoying in it (actually, he’s cute and endearing), but it is no Twas. Not even close. Without regard to the ‘Twas’ show that no one can see now anyway, A Totally Tomorrowland Christmas is pretty fun. I had some of the songs stuck in my head afterwards, and the performers were fun. Make sure you at least give it a chance. We now make a point of watching A Totally Tomorrowland Christmas at least once per year.

Celebrate the Season Stage Show – Celebrate the Season is a really fun show, although the story is not the greatest. The main attraction here is seeing all of the characters, dressed up in interesting costumes, acting oddly, and dancing. I don’t really think the story is even of paramount importance to enjoying the show, as it’s really fun to just watch the characters play dress-up in the Christmas setting.

Character Dance Parties – There are typically two of these, the better of which (by far) is in the old Golden Horseshoe building, and is called Woody’s Hootin’ Holiday Round-Up. If it’s a cold night, this is a great place to go inside and warm up for a bit, plus the lines for hot cocoa and cookies are usually fairly short here. The Golden Horseshoe looks great decked out for Christmas.

Holiday Wishes! – One of the highlights of the night is the fireworks show, Holiday Wishes. Holiday Wishes is amazing in its ability to thematically incorporate fireworks so they fit not only the name of the show, but more importantly, with the accompanying song lyrics. For those who have seen Holiday Wishes, who among you, when you first heard and saw the “O Christmas Tree” portion of the show didn’t melt a little inside? While the fireworks play an important role, the lyrics truly deserve more than just a passing mention.

I’ve long thought that the standard Wishes! fireworks spectacular was a little on the soft side lyrically, but perhaps I have formed this opinion after hearing how well Holiday Wishes’ soundtrack was assembled. I am not exactly musically-inclined, but I would like to think I know something well-done when I hear it. From its opening, with “Spirit of the Season” (which coincidentally is one my most played Christmas songs on iTunes; if you like Christmas music, you owe it to yourself to pick up the Walt Disney World Holiday Wishes CD from Amazon.com!) to the conclusion, the soundtrack is perfect. Its transitions are wonderfully done, as it often goes from drastically different songs without seeming forced. Plus, there’s the Christmas theme of the show that really makes it even more endearing for me. It’s definitely one thing you must see if you’re going to Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party, and a highlight of the evening for many guests!

Character Meet & Greets – If you want to meet all of the characters at the Party, this is one area where you might want to employ a bit of strategy. First, get in line early (prior to 7 pm) for the Seven Dwarfs. It’s unclear where they’ll be appearing this year, but we expect them to be in New Fantasyland near the walls the Seven Dwarfs Mine Train (unless it soft opens early).

As long as you visit the Dwarfs early before a line accumulates, you should be fine. The stars of the party, the Country Bears, rarely attract crowds (more like, “who are you?” questions) as they wander the parks, and they are an incredible amount of fun if you stick around to ‘play’ with the bears. If you happen to find them inside the Adventureland Veranda (the hot cocoa spot in Adventureland) or the Golden Horseshoe, you can really have some fun with them. We spent nearly an hour at one party doing this.

Mickey & Minnie are most accessible near the very end of the party, however, there can be small “rushes” on them as guests decide to visit them on their way out of the park. Keep this in mind when contemplating when you should visit them and Santa Claus.

Complimentary Cookies & Hot Cocoa – There are stations to get these all over the park. Although reasonable mind can differ on this, I think these free refreshments are delicious. Just thinking about them as I write this makes me hungry, and transports me back to memories of many a cold night sipping on hot cocoa to keep warm (it doesn’t work, but hey, why not try?!). Lines for refreshments can get bad near the front of the park (Crystal Palace especially) near the parade-time, but most of the time, you won’t encounter too bad of crowds.

Snow on Main Street - From what I understand, this isn’t “real” snow, but it sure does look like it! Children and adults alike watch in amazement as snow falls on dry pavement in Florida. This is really a special sight, and between this, the wonderful music, and the decorations, Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party really does have that Christmas feeling!

Review

Like I said above, we’re huge Christmas fans. We’ve been to the party around a dozen times since 2007, and plan on going back for the 2014 Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party. In 2010, we went to three Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Parties! We went again a couple of times in 2011. In 2012, we only got one chance to go. Anyway, it should be clear that we absolutely love the Christmas Party. The Magic Kingdom gets decked out for the party, with cool decorations, snow, an excellent lighting package, and even different background music. It’s these little details that make the party worth the money for us–even if it is around $60 each for us. While some contend that you’re better off saving the money and seeing the fireworks and parade for free the week of Christmas, this is really just part of what the parties offer (not 75% of it as some many contend). The ambiance and other little details are what make these parties great. To be sure, if you’re on a limited budget and your trip includes dates before and after the Party ends, you should consider skipping the party. It’s also worth noting that these hard ticket parties used to be “known” for low crowds and, as a result, short waits. This is still true on certain nights, but it’s no longer the rule. Many party nights are just as crowded (sometimes more crowded!) as a normal night in the Magic Kingdom. So if you haven’t been to a Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party in a few years, this is something that might have “changed” since your last Party.

However, if you’ve never been to  Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party, love Christmas, and aren’t fond of Christmas-week crowds, Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party is definitely for you, and an event we’d recommend if your budget allows!

As far as value goes, if you’re not an Annual Passholder, attending a Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party actually becomes a more economical proposition. Simply purchase a Magic Your Way ticket for one fewer day than you otherwise would, and do  our FREE self-guided resort hotel tour the morning of Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party, then head to the Magic Kingdom at 4pm. You’ll want to visit the resort hotels to see their decorations, anyway, so in effect you save yourself from having to purchase one day on your Magic Your Way Tickets by doing this (in other words, if you normally would buy a 5-day ticket for your trip, buy a 4-day ticket and follow this plan instead).

Granted, that additional day to your ticket that you otherwise would have purchased would have only added on $10-30 in cost to your total package, but if money is the issue, this should help in making Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party tickets more palatable, cost-wise. To save even more money on multi-day Walt Disney World tickets, we highly recommend Undercover Tourist, an authorized ticket broker selling CHEAPER tickets than you can buy directly from Disney. Between the day less on your tickets and the amount you’ll save by purchasing through Undercover Tourist, your Christmas Party tickets are basically free!

Overall, I think Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party is worth the money, but I understand that it is expensive, and its prices continue to rise, reaching an all-time high in 2013 (it will likely increase again for 2014). I don’t see this trend reversing itself anytime in the near future. Like many things at Walt Disney World, it’s worth trying at least once! There are a lot of great free offerings at Walt Disney World during the Christmas season, from the Osborne Lights to Candlelight Processional, but we still feel Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party is worth the money to do once per year if your budget allows. If the special offerings listed here don’t appeal to you, I would strongly advise you not to attend for the lighter crowds, because on some nights the lighter crowds turn out to be quite heavy. It’s definitely not worth the money if all you’ll do is attractions.

For comprehensive tips for planning your Christmas-time trip to Walt Disney World, check out our “Ultimate Guide to Christmas at Walt Disney World.” For Walt Disney World trip planning tips and comprehensive advice, make sure to read our Walt Disney World Trip Planning Guide and related articles.

For updates on Walt Disney World, the latest news, discount information, and tips, sign up for our free newsletter!

Your Thoughts…

What do you think of Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party? Which aspect of the Christmas Party is your favorite? Are you going in 2014? Please share your thoughts in the comments!

468 ad

157 Responses to “Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party 2014 Tips”

  1. Mike Greening says:

    Outstanding report. You are so right about the location to photograph the parade. Not only is Main St. well lit, the popcorn lights on the buildings provide fantastic bokeh.

  2. Laura B. says:

    As a former SoCal resident, I have only seen DL at Christmas (btw: you’re going to LOVE Believe in Holiday Magic!), does it snow after Holiday Wishes like in Believe in Holiday Magic? Or does it just randomly snow at MVMCP? I don’t know which I would prefer. Snow randomly would be fun, but there’s nothing like the feeling of the snow falling at the end of Believe in Holiday Magic. Also, can I just say you’re never going to look at the Haunted Mansion or IASW the same ever again. DL at Christmas is the BEST! Can’t wait to read the trip reports. Is it sad that I’m already looking forward to the next trip reports when you haven’t even finished the current one? You’ve got me hooked for sure! Thanks for keeping the magic alive for all of us who can’t visit the world as often as we’d like.

  3. Darolyn says:

    Attending our very first MVMCP on 11/11!! since it’s one of the earlier parties, I hope it won’t be too crowded. Christmas is my favorite time of year so MVMCP at WDW would be absolute perfection!! :)

    • Awesome! Are you going to the Osborne Lights? It’s one of the few other things that will be ready for Christmas when you are down there, but luckily it is also one of the best Christmas experiences at WDW. Hope you love it!

      • Darolyn says:

        I have seen the Osborne Lights before and they are BEAUTIFUL!! I saw them back when they were on Residential Street too in 2001. My sister, however, has never been during Christmas before so this will be her first WDW Christmas experience! She’s pretty pumped!!

  4. Mike says:

    Great review! We’ve always done Christmas at Disney on/immediately following December 25th, so we’ve always missed the party. This year we’re headed down the week after Thanksgiving and have tickets for the party on Dec. 4th and cannot wait. We are also huge Christmas nuts and love the parks at the holidays. Thankss for the review and the advice!

    • Krissy says:

      We’ll be there on Dec 4th as well! We can’t wait! Christmas has always been my favorite time of year & what better way to celebrate than with the Mouse in his house! This will be our first MVMCP and I am sooooo excited! Have a wonderful time!

    • Joann says:

      We will be there for the party on the 4th also for my 70th BD on the 4th. Can’t wait loved your review.

  5. Josh G. says:

    Great review Tom. I have been on vacation(non-Disney)and was away from my computer for a few days. Saw that you had posted the MVMCP review and couldn’t wait to read it, this December will be my first time attending it. I sat down with my computer and to fully appreciate what I was about to read I put on “The Spirit of the Seasons” in the background. Needless to say when I got to your part on Holiday Wishes’ soundtrack, I had a pretty good laugh. I guess great (Disney) minds do think alike.

  6. Viris says:

    Great pictures! We are going to attend the parade on the 18th. I can’t wait. Thanks for the tips. Although I also just wanted to know what camera you used to take these dramatic pictures!

  7. Wii Wii says:

    I do trust all of the ideas you’ve introduced for your post. They are very convincing and will definitely work. Nonetheless, the posts are too brief for newbies. May just you please prolong them a little from subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

  8. Aaron says:

    Great post Tom, and good tips. We’ll be attending our second party on Dec. 13. We had blast last year and are looking forward to going again this year, especially because we’ll have plan this time around. Our first party was a bit haphazard, but incredibly fun nonetheless. I’m sure my wife will try to beat her record of six consecutive rides on Space Mountain while I sat in Tomorrowland with our sleeping son! (Last year’s party that we attended was not that crowded and wait times were minimal, at least later in the evening.)

  9. Chronic Gin Deficiency says:

    This is my one instance of WDW familiarity breeding contempt. I absolutely loathe the idea of these parties, and wouldn’t go unless given a ticket. It could be years of hooch rotting my brain, but I recall all these things, even the refreshments, once having been free throughout December (though that was many, many years ago. At one time the Candlelight Processional was a one-night event held in Town Square…yes, I’m that old). At least the Halloween parties offer something which can’t be seen any other way or time. Fifty-bucks-plus just seems like a total gyp for this event.

    My December trip usually overlaps the start of “free” parade days, and the midweek crowds are nothing like those of actual Christmas week. See the parade, see the castle show, then bag it and watch the fireworks from Top of the World.

  10. Dave says:

    I wish I had seen this before we went last year! I agree about skipping it if you’re going close to Christmas day IF you don’t have kids or your kids are older than 13. We went thinking that it would be great and all this fun stuff to do that would be so unique and…we couldn’t tell the difference save for the cookies and cocoa when we went again a few days later (that wasn’t w VMCP night). The one thing my wife really REALLY wanted to do at the VMCP was get pictures of our kids with all 7 Dwarfs, but the line was unbelievable (hours), so we had to bail on it.

    We would have liked to see the parade from Main St. but it was absolutely jammed down there…or so we thought. Turns out it was merely crowded.

    With that in mind, if you are going there with kids 12 or under and plan on being there in the days before, of and just after Christmas, go to the VMCP if you can or at a minimum, go to the Magic Kingdom at night before the 23rd.

    It will be crowded no doubt, but nothing like what it will be from about the 23rd on. We went to the party and went back on Christmas Eve which turned out to be a big mistake. It teetered on the edge of dangerously crowded in there on Christmas Eve. Huge throngs of people all jockeying to get in position to see the castle stage show, the projection show and Wishes pressed into an area so tightly, there was almost no room to move, but lots of people pushing to get somewhere. Tempers flared, many toes stepped on. Add the complete darkness when they “dim” the lights – meaning turn off, not lower the brightness – and it was crazy. Someone rolled over my foot with a wheelchair because we couldn’t see each other. Can’t tell you how good that felt at the end of the day.

    Most significantly, we truly feared that one of our kids was going to get separated from us somehow and we wouldn’t be able to get to him/her immediately or necessarily know where they went. I’m not exagerrating. I had my daughter on my back and my wife put her arms around our son to make sure he didn’t get pulled away. It’s not the magical time on Christmas Eve you imagine unless you plan on doing all the stuff besides what you go to the Magic Kingdom for on Christmas Eve, but who’s doing that?

    Again, if you have kids 12 and under, go to the VMCP, even if it’s crowded or avoid the Magic Kingdom at night the 23-25 if you can. It will be a much less stressful way to enjoy the season at the parks. Oh, I should note that we went to the last VMCP the first day we were there, which was the 18th or so.

    Even if it’s super-crowded, you’ll be able to move at the Osbourne lights, or follow Tom’s tour of the resorts, you’ll have an equal chance of seeing Christmas-themed characters with much shorter wait times, possibly free cookies etc. I know how powerful the instinct is to go to the Magic Kingdom on Christmas Eve, I mean, the memories you imagine having are fantastic and you want that for the kids, but I’m just hoping that I can help someone else avoid the pitfalls. We had a good time on our trip, but that night just wasn’t at all what we wanted it to be like.

    Dave

    • Dave says:

      Man, I cans writes lots!

    • Tom Bricker says:

      Great points. I think it all depends upon what you set out to do, too. We were in Walt Disney World for New Year’s Eve, which is also an INCREDIBLY busy day. We had a great time, but we weren’t in any rush to get anything done. Had it been our only trip of the year and had we wanted to do attractions, we probably would not have had a good time!

      • elizabeth says:

        would they let you in early if you have a Christmas spectacular ticket and also are you able get on any of the rides if you get there early or we have to purchase an extra ticket for the kids to get on the rides I don’t want to be in the park all day I want my daughters to go on some rides but not if I have t purchase another ticket??

  11. kris says:

    Hi.. I have gone to the xmas party 3 times and plan on doing so again this Dec. 11th. Sorry to say i have never really seen the whole parade… to busy have fun with every thing else in the park. This year maybe time to see it because I am bring my 4 year old grandson. The music and fireworks entertainers make the extra ticket price WORTH IT.
    thanks kris
    See you real soon!

    oO

    • Tom Bricker says:

      Definitely take the time to catch the parade. Well worth seeing!!!

      • Lou says:

        I got excited to see your opening comment of the 12/8 start.

        We arrive on the 7th and don’t have a ticket package starting till the 9th.

        But the 1st night is 12/09.

  12. Joey says:

    Thanks for the tips! I experienced my first MNSSHP this October and loved the parade! I will be attending my first MVMCP Nov 12th and am really looking forward to it! Next to WDW, Christmas ranks very high on my list of favorite things so combining them just might blow my mind! One of my fondest Christmas memories is listening to a cassette of all the characters sing Christmas carols around the holidays.

    By the way, I have been a long time fan of your blog and this is my first time commenting. You have great content and I absolutely love your photography! Both your blog and your photography are very inspiring to someone who is fairly new to photography and even newer to the blogging world. Thanks again and I am sure you will hear from me again!

  13. Cindy Self says:

    I have not been to the Christmas party in about 10 years. I live in Tampa and am going by myself on November 30. I am hoping it may not be that crowded but that is okay. I just love this night and it really puts me in the Christmas mood. Thanks for the tip on seeing the parade on Main Street. In the past I have seen it where it ends in Frontier Land. I am also staying at a value resort on property so I can take the shuttle to and from and can stay late at the park.

  14. sel says:

    Great tips! I just have a question. We are going for our first visit Dec 2 and i’m trying to figure out what day would be best for MVMCP Dec 4 or Dec6? We have AK planned for the day on Dec4 and MK on Dec 6 (schedule MK before they announced Grand Opening and have Royal Table and Bibbi Boutique set for that day). Not sure it will be over crowded due to grand opening.
    Thanks!! Any help would be appreciated. :)

  15. Kttin says:

    What time does mvmcp start? 4pm or 7pm? I see that the regular park hours are till 7 pm. How do they get people out of the park before the party starts?

    • Tom Bricker says:

      The party starts at 7 pm, but you can use your party ticket starting at 4 pm.

    • Lisa says:

      I’ve also wanted this answer, I have heard tho, that people don’t have to leave, they just can’t buy anything or ride rides without seeing a wrist band, they can only watch shows, same as the extra hours, you can’t ride anything without showing your room key, therefore if someone wants to look around without being bumped into, this would be good can someone verify this.

      • Laurie says:

        We went to the Christmas party in 2012 and I can say at that time they made people leave without a wrist band. The employees lined the streets from one side to the other and asked to see bands. They even came into the bathrooms and asked people in the stalls to show bands.

  16. Joyce says:

    Great blog!! Going first time ever on 12/21. Can we really get there at 4pm? I know the tickets say 7pm. That will help lots to get to see everything…

    Thanks again!

  17. Stephanie says:

    I ABSOLUTELY love Disney at Christmas. My family and I are SO excited to be going for 2 weeks this year. SO EXCITED.

  18. Kevin says:

    We went in 2011 and had a blast. I did not realize until reading this that the Country Bears wandered the parks – we missed them. We also just missed the Tremaines, but got in Belle in her Christmas dress, the 7 dwarfs (they were back by Splash Mtn with a relatively short line), Captain Jack (somehow with no line at all) and many others.

    As you say, I think the highlight of the party is Holiday Wishes (and in 2011 at least, the Magic, Memories, & You castle projection show). It was an expensive ticket, but well worth it to us.

  19. Deke says:

    Do you know or have a good guess at what times the parade runs? Thanks.

  20. Jennifer says:

    Will there be a 2013 Christmas Party ebook or would it be essentially the same as the 2012 ebook?

    • Amanda Kryway says:

      I second this question! I was about to buy the eBook when I noticed it was from 2012. Any chance there’s an update coming soon?

      • Tom Bricker says:

        There should be an update this fall. I’ll post here when it’s available. Thanks for asking!

  21. Erik says:

    We purchased our Christmas Party tickets for 11/11/13. Is that sufficent to get us into the park in the 4:00-7:00 range or do I need to purchase the full park admission on top of that?

  22. Anna says:

    Thank you so much for the outstanding overview of this party. My husband and I are taking our two kids (Joseph will turn 3 there & Molly will be just shy of 2) for the first time December 1st through the 10th. We attending the party on 12/3. I was hoping to find some insight on what all to expect so I can prepare more for the trip. The pictures are beautiful as well. Thanks again for all the amazing tips and reviews!
    Anna

  23. jay says:

    We are planning on doing this but wanted to know how long the park is open for? It says this starts at 7pm on the day we plan to go, but I can’t find the time the park is to close. (Or i am just missing it).

    • Thia says:

      It ends at midnight.
      Even though Disney says it starts at 7pm, which it does, you are allowed to enter into the park at 4pm.

  24. Jamie says:

    I was just on Disney’s website, looking at buying MVMCP tickets for 2013 and noticed that the site says “Valid Park Admission Required”. Is this just Disney’s way of trying to trick us into buying an extra day of park admission? Or, has the policy changed for 2013 and you now must pay to get into the park AND buy the hard ticket??

    • Tom Bricker says:

      I can’t say with complete certainty, but I am about 99% sure that this is an error. That would be a very, very aggressive policy change that would upset a lot of guests (and would make little sense).

    • Thia says:

      I was just on that site and saw nothing which stated this.

  25. Cindy says:

    We are going to be there Dec 19-23 and can’t deside on going or not.. the dates of the party are 19 & 20. Love the pictures!!

    • Tom Bricker says:

      You’ll be able to see most of the entertainment for free later in the week, so if you’re on the fence, you might skip. The ambiance definitely isn’t the same, but the main aspects of the party are there…

  26. Brittany says:

    Hey there! My family is going during Christmas week Dec 21-26. I was a little confused about the parade information regarding Christmas week. Do we have to buy a party ticket to attend the MVMCP during that time or just the fact that we’re going during Xmas week guarantee us “entry” as in we get to see the parade, hot coco, cookies, meet the characters in their Christmas gear, etc. without buying a MVMCP ticket?

    Thanks

  27. Nicole says:

    I just wanted to add that there is a great military discount offered for Mickey’s Christmas Party. With an active duty military ID tickets are only $43.40 for adults, and you can purchase up to 5 tickets. My parents live in Orlando so my husband and I are planning on surprising them with tickets when we visit in November. The military discount is only available on specific dates, and all of the dates are in November. Thanks for the informative post, I wasn’t sure of what exactly this event entailed before reading.

  28. Craig says:

    Hello,

    I am going to be in the Magic Kingdom on 5th December 2013. If we do not purchase tickets to the Mickeys Very Merry Christmas Party, do we not see any firework display, and have to leave the park early?
    I think park closure is at 7pm on that day, so I am guessing this takes place after that?

    Thanks

    Craig

  29. Lisa says:

    Hi There, my husband and I are in the process of booking our first Family vacation to Disney with our 2 girls…nothing is booked yet however I am just wondering is it worth our while to book the Christmas party now even though we haven’t purchased anything else yet?

    Thanks
    Lisa =)

  30. erika says:

    hello there! i love your blog! i will be attending mickeys very merry christmas party this upcoming december and i was wondering if you could tell me if we will receive some sort of flyer that will tell us where and approximately at what time every event that you listed will take place within the park. Also, where exactly is main street located in the park? Will maps be given out of where they will be taken place. thank you so much for your help! all of this planning can be kind of overwhelming!

    Mickey’s Once Upon A Christmastime Parade (VIEW OUR PHOTOS)
    A Totally Tomorrowland Christmas Show
    Celebrate The Season Stage Show
    Character Dance Parties (usually in the Golden Horseshoe and Cosmic Ray’s Starlight Cafe)
    Holiday Wishes Fireworks
    Disney character Meet and Greets with characters dressed in their holiday attire
    Complimentary cookies and hot cocoa
    Snow on Main Street

  31. Pam says:

    Thanks, we have gone to WDW every five years for our youngest’s bday but always at Thanksgiving, this year all 20 of us (grandparents to infants) will be there the 3rd weed in December to celebrate. We are so excited, after reading this, to go to the Christmas Party. We weren’t sure it would be worth the extra ticket or taking time out of our week, but it sounds like it will be a wonderful night, can’t wait!

  32. Aimee says:

    We are going to Disney Thanksgiving week. I have been contemplating getting these tickets. I am glad that I happened upon this fantastic read. I will definitely be purchasing tickets!!! Thanks for your ensights!

  33. Dannielle says:

    This year will be my family’s 4th MVMCP! We love it! It’s absolutely magical! We have a little girl who loves princesses and it’s a great opportunity to visit them all without long lines. (Don’t forget to take an autograph book!) We love the parade too. One of our three parties was a little chaotic as far as the parade goes. It was pretty difficult to get a spot. We know now to go get our spot about an hour before the parade begins. There are four of us so we get our spot and then take turns either holding the spot or visiting the shops on Main Street.

    We are about a 5 hour drive from Disney, so we do MVMCP on the first day of our trip. It’s perfect timing. We have just the right amount of time to drive there, get checked in and then be at the party by 4:00. This makes the best use of our time and doesn’t waste a regular park ticket.

    A quick tip, if you have small kids, make sure you catch the first parade. If you go to the later parade, your little ones may fall asleep and miss it!

    Oh and another tip, you can get free hot chocolate OR apple juice. This came in pretty handy for our 1 year old last year.

  34. akram kanaan says:

    I absolutely love Disney , my wife and I took the kids last year on Christmas it was fantastic , Ive never seen them happy like that, the good thing is I found cheap flight on this website I was very pleased with it http://www.cheapchristmasvacations.com I found it by luck but it made all my family happy you guys should really take a look at it .

  35. Leanne.cranston says:

    Can some 1 help me it’s my 1st Xmas in Disney I’m wanting to go Xmas day I have a son of 11 & 2 years old what’s the best things I should make sure we see so I can try and plan some kind of roto after reading all these blogs I’m a bit scared ha x

    • Tom Bricker says:

      Christmas day at Walt Disney World will be insanely busy, but the good news is that you won’t have to pay extra for this party since all of this entertainment will be included in the price of your ticket that day.

      My recommendation would be to arrive BEFORE the park opens and do as much as you can before it gets super-crowded.

  36. Kate's says:

    Just got off the phone with the folks at Disney. Inquired about Mickey’s Christmas party being included
    In the admission price, after Dec 20th. No one there has heard this. Really want to know so I can be
    sure as to how many days tickets to purchase. Any help?

    • Tom Bricker says:

      It’s not the party by name that is included with admission after that date, it’s the entertainment. The Christmas parade that runs during MVMCP becomes the daytime parade during Christmas week, the Holiday Wishes fireworks are shown at night, etc.

      This is done because it’s insanely busy that week, and Disney can’t “kick out” regular day guests from 7pm until 12 am because the other parks couldn’t handle it. So you’ll save money by not having to purchase the Christmas Party tickets, but you “lose” in the sense that crowds are much heavier than what you’d experience in the weeks leading up to Christmas week.

    • Lisa says:

      I was told the same thing, because I asked about the 21st, due to my kids in school1/2 day that day & we’re 9hr. drive.

  37. Rose says:

    Thanks for your review. I have been going to Walt Disney world since it first opened in 1971. this will be my first time go to the Very Merry Christmas Party. I am so looking forward to it this year.

  38. Carla says:

    Do you feel that it is busiest the first night 12/8? I am trying to figure out which date to go.

  39. Fernanda says:

    Hello Tom!! I’m thinking to go this year at Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party, but i have one doubt, Do I need to pay the admission at the Magic Kingdom plus the parade? or if i buy just for the party can I enter at the park? With this tickets: https://disneyworld.disney.go.com/events/mickeys-very-merry-christmas-party/purchase/

    Thank you!!

    • Tom Bricker says:

      If you are not going to enter the park until the party starts (they being allowing guests to enter with ONLY the party ticket at 4 pm), then you do NOT need to have a regular park ticket too. The cost of the party is ONLY the cost of the party ticket, not the party ticket plus the regular day ticket. Make sense? :)

      • Jane says:

        I am curious as to what rides are included when you just buy the Disney Christmas pass? It says most of your favorite rides. Can you please help me with this?

  40. Linda Jones says:

    We were hoping to attend on Tuesday, December 3, 2013 – but it looks like it will interfere with our dining plans at Epcot for Le Cellier. (The only time we could get for the entire week of our visit was that day at 3:35 pm).

    So now we’re looking at Friday December 6. Touring Plans says Thursday, December 5 is likely to be more crowded than that Friday … but I’m wondering whether locals would make Friday the more crowded. Any thoughts on this, Tom?

  41. Nancy says:

    I can’t wait to see this in December for the first time! When does the snow fall on Main Street. Is it only during both parades?

  42. Emma says:

    I am thinking of taking my grand kids, ages girls 10 and boy 13, to Mickey’s VMCP. Do you think they would enjoy it?

  43. Amanda says:

    Hi. So excited for our first trip this December. We will be attending Mickeys Christmas Party on the 17th. Do you happen to know whether or not there will still be buses back to the resorts after the party?

  44. Mandy says:

    Do you know if I can go in Magic Kingdom with only MVMCP ticket without buying any additional multi-days pass?

    • Mandy says:

      And what time is the 1st and 2nd rounds of the parade?

      • Andrea says:

        Mandy,
        Yes, you can get into Magic Kingdom with only your MVMCP ticket. The party starts at 7pm, but you can get into MK starting at 4pm. This first parade is 830pm & the 2nd is at 1030pm. Hope that helps!

  45. Lorena says:

    I will be in Orlando with my family from OCt. 30 for MNSSHP2013 up to Nov. 9. Just found out that Friday Nov. 8th is the 1st night for MVMC2013 and of course I have just added that to our itinerary.
    By experice, do you know if this first night for the Xmas party is extremely crowded? We are flying back to our country the day after….just trying to figure out if it will really be a fun farawell night for our family trip.

  46. Andrea says:

    Awesome review, thank you! I really want to get a picture with the Seven Dwarves. You say to line up before 7pm – is 7pm the time they usually are there for pictures? I’d love pictures with Santa & Mickey & Minnie, too. Best to wait until after the 2nd parade for those? And are they usually towards the gates?

    Thank you!

  47. Garrett F says:

    Would this be a good thing to do during a Honeymoon at WDW?

    • Kelly Comma says:

      Garrett, I honeymooned with my husband in October 2011 and we did Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party. I have also attended Mickey’s Very merry Christmas Party. My opinion: You can never go wrong with these parties. It’s lively, and the Christmas spirit is infectious! I would also like to add that strolling down Main Street, sipping hot chocolate and experiencing the “snow fall” is quite romantic while gazing at the Castle’s icicle lights. I say go for it!

  48. Soshia says:

    Ok loved the blog. I’ve never been to WDW unfortunately I never got that experience as a child but I have a 9 yr old 4yr old and 1 yr old and my sister is pressuring me to do this so.. I have a few questions.. Don’t worry I’ve Already read the rest of people enta and it answered a lot of my questions. But first off what can you do from 4 to 7 ? Ride rides ? Do they cost ? How much? Or does it come with just entry ?? Then after 7 when the mvmcp starts are there only certain parts of the park that u have access to? Are rides open? Sorry to sound dumb but really have no idea how it works..

  49. Burt B says:

    I assume the parade goes on regardless of weather? Which night would you suggest going to party, Sun/Tues/Thurs/Fri, week of 12/1-12/7

  50. April says:

    I’m not sure if people are aware of this, but we are going to the party in November and we are only buying the party tickets.
    You do not have to have an all day ticket to buy the party tickets. So from 4-12 you can visit the park and take advantage of the party for almost half the cost.

  51. Natalie says:

    Hi! I always go to the not so scary halloween party, and even though the ticket says it starts at 6 or 7 I always go earlier and they let us in the park anyways. Is if the same for the Christmas party?? Ca I go around 5 and be let in or no?

  52. Sean says:

    Tom,

    Thank you very much for the insight into MVMCP! We are taking our 7 and 9 year old girls to WDW for the first time arriving 11/22/13 and going to MVMCP that night.

    Do you (or anyone else reading who has attended before) have a recommendation on how early we need to stake out our spots to be in the front row on Main Street for the 8:15 parade?

    Thank you again for all the great information!

    Sean
    Austin, TX

  53. Elizabeth Reyes says:

    Hi! We are planning a trip Dec 13-20 and I’m a little confused. Do I need buy the tickets for the Christmas party or is it included in admission? In a few places you say it’s included with admission, but other times you say it’s worth the extra price.

    I just (obviously) don’t want to buy anything I don’t need to.

    Thanks for this review! It is amazing!

    • Tom Bricker says:

      After the Christmas parties end for the season, the entertainment that normally is shown during the parties (and you absolutely need tickets to attend a party) is shown during the day, for free. This starts the week of Christmas. Since you will be there December 13-20, you will not be there the week of Christmas, and WILL have to pay for the party if you want to see the entertainment.

  54. Dee says:

    Thanks for this! It was great information. We did the Disney NSSH Party and thought it was well worth it. But I just couldn’t decide if doing the extra Christmas Party was worth it.

  55. Corrie says:

    Tom, If I buy a regular 3 day ticket and a ticket for the very merry christmas party, will the christmas party use up one of my days?

    Does that question make sense?

    • Tom Bricker says:

      It will count on your 3-day ticket *only* if you enter the park before 4 pm on the day of the party. If you enter *after* 4 pm, just use your party ticket and do NOT use your 3-day ticket.

  56. Iveima says:

    Great review!!! Can’t wait to be there. Going for my first time to MVMCP 12/3 just my husband and me!!! Hope we have a lot of fun!

  57. Heather says:

    We are going to Disney Dec. 14-21, and staying at the Villas at the Animal Kindom Lodge. I just bought tickets for my husband and I to go to the party on 12/19/13. I’m leaving my 2 little ones at the resort with my parents. This will be our 1st time in Disney for the Christmas season, and I wanted to experience the party without my kids since I know they will be tired, and fussy. I am also a huge fan of Christmas time, and just love anything having to do with Christmas, and looking at your pics and reading your blog has got me so excited to go. I read your other blog where you said we can visit all the other resorts on our own, and see all the decorations. We plan on doing that during the day of the 19th. We will end off the 18th after going to Animal Kingdom at the Wilderness Lodge to have smores with Chip and Dale, a movie under the stars followed by the electric water parade. So excited!!! Just wanted to say thanks, because I wouldn’t have had any of this info if I wouldn’t have come accross your Blog a while back. :)

  58. Sarah says:

    At the very merry christmas party will I be able to have full access to getting photos with just a photo pass or do I specifically need to have the photo pass plus to get my picture taken at the magic kingdom park during the very merry christmas party?

  59. Jonathan says:

    Hello, I currently have an annual pass, am I not able to go to the Merry Christmas party?, I really want to know if this pass was worth it.
    Thank you

  60. ed says:

    If we go in before 4 pm on say , Dec 8th , we can stay all night but we will just not be able to go on any rides or buy anything , correct ? they never chase anyone out of the park. So we will be able to see the parades and watch the fireworks, right ?

  61. Courtney says:

    My fiancé and I are attending this year and so excited but I was wondering what is the typical dress for this? Is it normal everyday casual or Christmas dress?

  62. Amanda says:

    My sister is in the military and will be home for Xmas. We decided to take her to Orlando Dec 18-23, this will be her first time there! This also means I am bringing my 2.5 yr old son. Would it be better (crowd wise) to go on the 18th (Thursday) with the MVMCP or the 21st the Saturday without the MVMCP but closer to the actual Xmas date, is it close enough to hit the HUGE crowds?! I understand both days will be crowded but what would you guess be the best of the 2? TIA!!

  63. Gina Melton says:

    Great Article. It’s our first time taking our 19month old son to WDW net week and we are going to MVMCP. Question about where the best spot is to watch the fireworks show at the MVMCP. Any suggestions?
    We are staying at the contemporary and I have been told since we are eating at california grill earlier that night we can go back and watch the fireworks from their observation deck. Would that be worthwhile? I ask because I’m not sure how long my toddler will last without falling asleep that night and my thought was that watching fireworks at the hotel towards the end of the evening might be a good plan if he’s sleepy. (We have the whole next day to hang at MK). Otherwise, where are your favorite places to catch the fireworks display? Thanks SO much for the advice! And, Merry Christmas :)

  64. Amazing review, really helped us to understand the logistics of the Mickey Mouse Very merry Christmas party. It is our first time to the park and this gas been very helpful.

  65. Disneyman says:

    Hi Tom, Great review! I’ve been searching the internet for some information about the Christmas party music loops. Especially Tomorrowland and Adventureland. Do you have any idea if those exist on the web somewhere? MSUSA would also be great. Thanks!!!

  66. Layla Martin says:

    We just went the week before Thanksgiving week thinking that we would be there during the slow week, boy were we wrong. We also thought we would be able to ride the rides along with seeing all of the shows…wrong again. It was so crowded that if you didn’t pick your spot and set up camp for the whole night, you would not be able to see Holiday Wishes from a good spot. Nor would you see any of the parades, the second parade was just as packed as the first. The night started out on a bad note as well, it was pouring rain, which we also thought that it would have caused thinner crowds…wrong again. The one show we did get to see was the show with all of the characters right before closing. It was the cutest thing, although I had to encourage the hubby and kiddos to stay through till the end. Lesson learned: Find a spot on Main Street and camp out for the Very Merry Christmas Party and visit the park another day. The lines were alot lower for the VMCP so we did get to ride rides, but we missed out on all the shows. We left very disappointed. Had we known about camping out, we would have had a better time, and maybe you had posted the camping out idea on another blog entry that I have not read yet, by not means am I blaming you. I just want others to know about the camping out thingy. I got the feeling like there were more seasoned vets there than there were first timers.

    289 days till next visit!
    Layla Martin

  67. mandy says:

    Hi, we are visiting WDW for christmas 2014. Due to the UK christmas school holidays I dont think we will be there before the MVMCP has finished its run. We are gutted! We are guessing that it finishes on Fri 19th which would mean catching a flight early of the morning school finishes to enable us to arrive the night before the last party, so I dont think we can manage that unfortunately.
    I appreciate that all of the parades and the fireworks are viewable in that week leading up to Christmas. Gutted about the cookies and cocoa (not because we are greedy but because of the atmosphere it would create and feelings it would evoke.
    However, will it snow at any other time on main street? Christmas Day perhaps? Any feedback on experiencing bits of what we will miss would be appreciated. thanks

  68. Abby says:

    Me and my boyfriend are visiting WDW November 6th through 23rd, I’ve heard a lot of different feedback about crowds etc.
    Is it likely to be overly crowded whilst were there? The last time I went was September/October and I’d read somewhere that crowds in November were similar to this time.
    We are planning on spending as much time as possible in the parks and I’m researching everything I can to distribute our time out and be able to experience as much as we can.
    Have you any tips on when the best days or times to do things are?
    Thanks :)

    • Kelly says:

      You should subscribe to touring plans…they will give you crowd calendars for each park each day of your stay. We used that our first trip with a three and five year old, ten days at Disney parks, and not a one breakdown! They work.

  69. Elle says:

    Hi my family are attending the party this year and we are super exited! Can you go on the rides that night?
    Thanks

    • Allison W. says:

      Yes, most of the rides will be open. The ones that are closed are usually only closed because of normal repairs.

  70. Roz says:

    Christmas is the best!! Everything is so beautiful and festive. If you have never been at that time….you should
    you will never forget it!!!

  71. Janet says:

    Bought my ticket today for Dec. 7th, 2014. SOOOOO excited.

  72. Kelly says:

    Tom,
    We have not been to MK since they started the magic Kingdom Festival of Fantasy Parade. If we have a 6 day parks pass, do you think we can still see this new parade in the daytime before they start the Christmas Party? We want to come in December 2014 so we can show our kids all of the special things at the parks, but would hate to miss out on the new parade.
    Thanks,
    Kelly

  73. John Owen says:

    I had no idea I would be making my trip during this party and the Halloween one. I am now trying to decide which I should attend, or if I have money for both. Thank you so much for all the information and the review!

  74. Jennifer says:

    We are busily planning a Nov/14 2 family trip. We are trying to figure out the ‘best’ day to do the christmas parade for 4 adults and 4 kids (5, 4, 2 and 2). We’ve read and heard that overall Mondays are not great for visiting the parks as they can be quite busy – wondering if as a general rule the monday parade would be busier than another night? Thanks so much for your feedback!

    • Kelly says:

      If you subscribe to touringplans.com you can enter your dates and find out the best day to attend. We are planning our fourth trip in four years using them, and we have two little kids. They never let us down and their website gives you a wealth of info. I primarily use them and Tom’s blog to plan my trips

  75. Jen says:

    Hi. Great review! Looking forward to attending this November. Have you heard the rumor that Disney is thinking of stopping early admission at 4 pm? I really hope that isn’t true….

  76. Kristen D says:

    This article is great and I am loving that I stumbled upon this site. I am going to be there 12/16-12/22. On 12/21 will they show the same parade from MVMCP during the day? Do you know what times, if it is only once? You seem to have a lot of experience so I am hoping you can help. Also if we are lucky enough to snag one of the patio tables at Tony’s will this give us a good view?

  77. Danielle says:

    Hey Tom

    We’re coming from Australia and doing another Magic Your Way vacay package of 6 nights 7 days. We’re planned on being at the Magic Kingdom the same night the MVMCP will be on. Tell me, if we didn’t purchase the tix for this event, would we be expected to leave the park before it starts?

    Our plan is to purchase tix should we have to, but wow; what a lot of money to pay when you’ve already forked out thousands to be there already!

    Thanks!
    Danielle

    • Tom Bricker says:

      If you do not purchase party tickets, yes, you will have to leave at 7 pm.

      A lot of extra money, I know, but that’s the way it works. Have a great trip! :)

  78. Tina Koller says:

    I just stumbled upon this site and absolutely love it!!!
    Just returned from our honeymoon on 06/08/14 and my mother in law just surprised the whole family with a trip. We will be arriving on November 28th ( Black Friday) and will be returning home on December 6th. Oh btw there will be 17 of us traveling.. We just booked MVMCP for November 30th.. Question is I’ve never been in Disney at that time of the year and curious what to expect for the weather..
    Also would you suggest with a party of our size to go to the 2nd parade and any special tips would be greatly appreciated! Im the only one in our grand party that has been to disney more than 15 times so of course I’m expected to organize and handle the majority of things.. So any help would be awesome!!
    Also, we will be traveling with many children that adore “Frozen”. Has anyone heard when a coronation ceremony for Elsa and Anna will be? One more question.. When does normally the ABC Christmas Parade is filmed?? Also do you need special tickets for the filming???
    Thank you all so much for any help!!!!

    • Allison W. says:

      Weather wise, look at the weather.com website before you leave your house. You never know what the weather will be like there. Some years it’s been cold with people wearing coats and other years it’s so hot you ask yourself why you didn’t pack any shorts. Can’t really help you with your other questions. I do have a suggestion though: with such a large group of you going, you will want to break up into groups. You will get nothing done if you stay in your group of 17.

  79. Kelly says:

    Tom, I don’t want to use one of my Magic Your Way dates on the VMCP because we also will by the ticket for that. But in planning, I had a question…can I use my FP plus options the night of the Christmas party with just the hard ticket event? I called disney today and got a person who could not answer my questions. She didn’t even realize that after the 18th you can see the parade and fireworks…said we wouldn’t see them if we didn’t attend the VMCP. I have been to the Halloween party twice the last couple years and we never did crowded rides as with two kids the parade, shows etc took up the whole time. But with the new dwarf mine train we might need FP. Thanks Tom. Love all that you and Sarah do.

    • Tom Bricker says:

      If last year’s test is any indication, FP+ won’t be available for the parties, but it’s impossible to say definitively until the first party occurs. Since last year was only a test and a lot of change has occurred since then, I wouldn’t be surprised if FP+ is available for the parties, but my guess is that it won’t be.

      Sorry, that’s no help, but that’s the reality of the situation as we currently know it.

      • Allison W. says:

        Fast pass will not be in play starting at 7:00. That is what I read on the Official MVMCP web page.

  80. Michelle says:

    Love this site!!!! I have bought our VMCP tickets for Dec 7, 2014 this will be our first time at WDW. I have also reserved my family a table at the “Tomorrow land Terrace of firework dessert party” in the magic kingdom at 8:30p.m. on the same evening of the VMCP….doing this are we missing out or would you suggest doing it another night? Any input would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks again :)

  81. Johanna says:

    Are crowds worst at this time of the year than during summer?

    • Allison W. says:

      It depends; if you’re going Thanksgiving week or Christmas break time, yes. That is the busiest time of year. But if you go before/inbetween those holidays, you should be fine.

  82. Ayla says:

    Hi everyone, we received our tickets (for Nov 10) today, and apparently Disney did change early admission time. The ticket allows admission from 7pm (!) – 12am.

  83. Excellent write up – made me even more excited for December! BTW, your photos are gorgeous. :) Thanks for sharing!

  84. Courtney! says:

    Just booked my tickets to the Christmas Party! I’ve never been to Disney at Christmas and I can’t wait!!

  85. Renae says:

    Very excited to be going to Mickey’s Christmas party for the first time for my 23rd birthday! We have dinner reservations for Chef Mickey’s at 5:30, do you think this will allow us enough time to eat and then get back to Magic Kingdom before 7 pm?

    • Tom Bricker says:

      Depends upon how quickly you are seated. My bet is you’ll probably make it to the Magic Kingdom by 7:30 or so.

  86. JMF says:

    I’m a new visitor to Disney and I’m so confused by your post – we will be at Magic Kingdom on the 19th as well as the 21st – so I’m uncertain as to how they will prevent us from seeing the parade, etc on the 19th if we are already there? Do they kick you out of magic kingdom – how do they keep you from seeing the fireworks if you are already there? Also – if this is the case – would you recommend tickets for the party if we are able to go “free” on the 21st?

  87. rae shinsato says:

    Going to the Mickeys very merry Christmas party is that price included in your ticket price for the day or is there a seperate fee to attend the party??

  88. Dalton says:

    Dose the line for the seven dwarfs get shorter as the night goes on? Or should I jump in line at 6?

  89. Kelly says:

    We are wondering if u have two tickets for Mickey very merry Christmas tickets left for November 7 2014

  90. Christy janda says:

    Is the holiday party offered at DisneyLand as well?

  91. Renee says:

    Where would you recommend having dinner and at what time on Christmas Party nite? We plan to arrive at 4…do a few rides and be ready for fireworks at 9-9:30. Recommendations? Thanks!

  92. Amy says:

    i just purchased my tickets for MVMCP and I selected “print from home” as I assumed I would get an email with the tickets, this was not the case and I don’t have a computer at home (was going to print from work). I called Disney and told them this and the girl was very unhelpful, told me as long as you could see it on “My Disney Experience” it would be okay. But that doesn’t make sense to me as it doesn’t show a barcode or anything. Should I call again? Am I able to pick them up at WIll Call that day?? (in Canada, didn’t wanna pay the $25 for shipping). Any help would be great.

  93. Hi there colleagues, good article and nice urging commented here, I am really enjoying by
    these.

  94. Tim Tracy says:

    Hi Tom
    In your article you say low crowds in the past is now a thing of the past but also state that it depends on the date you attend. I was thinking of going Sunday November 16th. Do you think that day might be one of the slower crowd days. Would Thursday the 20th be better? I’m not a fan of big crowds at MK.

    “It’s also worth noting that these hard ticket parties used to be “known” for low crowds and, as a result, short waits. This is still true on certain nights, but it’s no longer the rule.”

    Your thoughts?
    Love your photos.
    Tim

  95. Benita says:

    Me and the family are going this year 2014!I love Christmas lights music weather EVERYTHING! But in the past I have not been a fan of Disney because I never seem to do it right! I want to attend the Parade and plan on going in November. I’m still trying to find the best dates. Also we are only planning to go for 2 days max! Any ideas?? I really want to enjoy Help please Im a terrible planner hahaha

  96. Christy says:

    Question, I am an annual pass holder and not sure the extra fee for the Very Merry Christmas is really worth it. Do you know how long after Dec 19th they continue to do the same parade?

  97. Dulce says:

    Hi, I am planning to attend Mickey’s Christmas party on Nov 7th what is the time you can enter the park if the festivities start at 7 are we allowed in earlier ? I am assuming anyone in the park with a day ticket has to leave before then, I was just planning on attending a half day at one of the other parks and then leaving for the christmas party event instead of wasting a day ticket there on top of having to pay for an extra ticket for the christmas party…

  98. susan says:

    Tom,
    REALLY appreciate all the time and effort you and your wife spend to inform the world at large about WWD. Because of your blog, our family is taking a mini vacation to see the Mickey Mouse Christmas party (perhaps you should hit them up for commission) and just bask in the early December Christmas magic. Planning on taking your self guided lights tour and eating at your well reviewed counter spots as we have a toddler. He is most interested in the cupcakes at “Mickey’s House!” so thanks for the excellent pics.
    Will let you know how it goes and if we encounter any new holiday treats…

  99. susan says:

    Tom,
    Me again. :) As a side note, we are only getting party tickets and using the party as an introduction to the Magic Kingdom for our 2 year old son. It should be exciting and allow for a few key rides without exhausting him with a full MK day. Just a thought for other parents of youngsters.

  100. Priscilla says:

    Would you recall the date we started the MVMCP?

  101. Andrea says:

    Thanks for this great post! We have tickets to the MVMCP for Thursday, 11/20 and I’m wondering if it might be a good time to do some of the attractions that we weren’t able to get FP+’s for (Seven Dwarfs, Anna & Elsa, etc.). Thoughts? :)

  102. Liam says:

    Need tickets for November 7th. Willing to pay 150$ for each. Want 8 any help would be nice.

  103. Liam says:

    Need 8 tickets for November 7th. Willing to pay 150$ for each.

  104. Nazdira says:

    Hi… I loved all your comments about the Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party. Actually this will be my first time in WDW, I’ve been in Disneyland but first time in Orlando.. So i was wondering if this party would worth it!.. and after a lot of research and read your blog I totally decide in going!.. If i am going to spend money.. lets spend it right!! =) besides This could be a once in a life time opportunity, you will never now. So let’s enjoy this Party and make our dreams come true! =)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 101 Great Disney World Tips - Disney Tourist Blog - […] best viewing place for Mickey’s Once Upon a Christmastime parade during Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party is, without question, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>