2024 Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party Guide

Our guide to the 2024 Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party offers tips & info for Magic Kingdom’s fall special event at Walt Disney World. This includes available & sold out dates, ticket prices & discounts, schedule & strategy for seeing the parade, fireworks, and characters, plus our review of MNSSHP and whether it’s worth your time & money. (Updated May 22, 2024.)

For those unfamiliar with it, Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party (MNSSHP) is a special event that occurs after Magic Kingdom closes for the day. It is separately ticketed, meaning you have to pay extra for the party if you’re already in the park as a day guest and want to stay through MNSSHP.

If you’re wanting to plan ahead for the 2024 Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party, the good news is that Walt Disney World has now released dates, prices, and select details. Additionally, 2024 tickets are now on sale for all guests. If you want to be notified when full details for the 2024 party are released, subscribe to our FREE email newsletter. For now, here’s everything you need to know about the event…

Not everything has been announced yet, but here’s a rundown of the major highlights for the 2024 Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party:

  • Set your sights on the Hocus Pocus Villain Spelltacular! Watch 3 sinister sisters bewitch and bedazzle the residents of Magic Kingdom park.
  • Witness Disney’s Not-So-Spooky Spectacular—a wickedly wild fireworks display featuring some of your favorite Disney Characters and hosted by Jack Skellington from Tim Burton’s The Nightmare Before Christmas.
  • Boogie down at the Disney Junior Jam at Cosmic Ray’s Starlight Café—featuring some favorite friends from Disney Junior shows. It’s perfect for young partygoers!
  • See beloved Disney Characters during Mickey’s Boo-to-You Halloween Parade.
  • Collect a bag full of candy as you roam the trick-or-treat trails in search of some of your favorite sweets.
  • Revel in the extraordinarily enchanting atmosphere of Magic Kingdom park during this limited-capacity event.

As noted above, tickets for the 2024 Mickey’s Not-So-Scary Halloween Party may now be purchased by anyone.

General public sales began on May 15, following about a week of pre-sale for on-site guests. You can purchase 2024 Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party tickets by calling 407-939-4240 or online at disneyworld.com.

And to our surprise, the first date appears to have already sold out!

Halloween night–October 31st–is now sold out both on DisneyWorld.com and via the My Disney Experience app. However, we say that it “appears” to have sold out because as of yesterday it was still showing as available in the app. Now it’s gone on both.

We’re also hedging this with “appears” because even with the last couple of years selling out every single night of the events (which never happened in any prior years), no dates have sold out before late June. That’s when Halloween night sold out. So if the October 31, 2024 MNSSHP actually is sold out, it’s coming only about a week after tickets went on sale and over a month earlier than normal.

It’s entirely possible that this is legit and Halloween night is sold out. In fact, it probably is! But if so, that was really fast–and more than a little concerning. It could mean that tickets are going to sell even faster this year, or it could be a fluke and all other dates will sell out consistent with the typical timeline. Either way, we aren’t going to wait to find out–we’re buying our MNSSHP tickets now.

For whatever it’s worth, usually cheaper dates and the first night sell out sometime in July, with more dates selling out in early August. Once content from the first night of the event floods social media, there’s usually a “run” on tickets for subsequent events–and several more parties sell out around then.

Here are dates and prices for every night of the 2024 Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party:

  • August 9, 2024 – $149
  • August 13, 2024 – $119
  • August 16, 2024 – $119
  • August 20, 2024 – $119
  • August 23, 2024 – $119
  • August 27, 2024 – $119
  • August 30, 2024 – $129
  • September 2, 2024 – $129
  • September 6, 2024 – $129
  • September 8, 2024 – $129
  • September 10, 2024 – $129
  • September 13, 2024 – $129
  • September 15, 2024 – $129
  • September 17, 2024 – $149
  • September 20, 2024 – $149
  • September 22, 2024 – $149
  • September 24, 2024 – $149
  • September 26, 2024 – $149
  • September 27, 2024 – $149
  • September 29, 2024 – $149
  • October 1, 2024 – $169
  • October 3, 2024 – $169
  • October 4, 2024 – $189
  • October 6, 2024 – $179
  • October 8, 2024 – $179
  • October 10, 2024 – $179
  • October 11, 2024 – $189
  • October 14, 2024 – $179
  • October 15, 2024 – $179
  • October 17, 2024 – $179
  • October 18, 2024 – $189
  • October 20, 2024 – $189
  • October 21, 2024 – $189
  • October 24, 2024 – $189
  • October 25, 2024 – $199
  • October 27, 2024 – $199
  • October 29, 2024 – $199
  • October 31, 2024 – $199 SOLD OUT

For those keeping score at home, the starting price of 2024 Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party tickets increased by $10–from $109 to $119. On top of that, the distribution of dates shifted towards the higher end of the spectrum–for example, a few dates that were previously $169 increased to $189 this year. The maximum remained unchanged at $199.

Honestly, Disney probably could’ve pushed prices even further. Despite costs skyrocketing two years ago, all dates have sold out since then–and prices have plateaued during that time. We expected the range to be $129 to $225 this year, but it seems that Walt Disney World is reluctant to break the $200 barrier. Give it time–when it does happen, they’ll probably “make up for lost time” and go quite a bit above $200.

Annual Passholders and Disney Vacation Club Members can save $10 per ticket to Mickey’s Not-So-Scary Halloween Party—valid only for event nights in August and September. Cast Members can also save on select nights. More details can be found on Cast Life Web or My Disney Today.

Last year, Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party was held on 38 select nights August 11 through November, setting the record for most dates ever. So this year starts two nights earlier, but ends one night earlier. For those keeping score at home, August 9 is the earliest the event has ever started.

With that in mind, what follows is background and planning info for Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party, based on last year’s event. It’s unlikely that much will change for 2024…

Our tips and tricks for Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party (MNSSHP) are based on our experiences attending the party over 30 times since 2007. You can read about our experience the first night last year in our Review & Photos: Mickey’s Scary HOT Halloween Party Report.

If you’ve already purchased MNSSHP tickets and want something that synthesizes all of the basic info about the event into a step-by-step plan, see our Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party Itinerary. That’s more concise, leaving out a lot of background and crowd info.

We also have a look at all of the food items in the Halloween Snack & Dessert Food Guide to Magic Kingdom. Finally, if you’re interested in ‘collecting’ all of the exclusive images during the event, see our Guide to ALL PhotoPass Magic Shots at Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party.

Now, let’s turn to a brief summary of what’s new at the Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party season, just in case you don’t read our MNSSHP report above…

Walt Disney World has revealed a couple of new additions for the 2024 Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party. The announcement indicates that you’ll be able to “strike a pose” with Mickey and Minnie in their new costumes during the party, which suggests the dynamic duo are going to be meeting together in Town Square Theater in new looks during the event.

The new meet & greets don’t end there! During the 2024 Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party, guests will also be able to meet Bruno alongside Mirabel in the Fantasy Garden. Oogie Boogie Bash has had Bruno for the last few years, and he’s a shockingly good face character for meet & greets. We’re not the biggest fans of Encanto, but really have enjoyed meeting him at the event–he’s a fun character with a sly personality who’s great for amusing interactions.

Those are the only two new things for 2024 that have been announced so far. Last year’s Boo to You Parade featured a number of changes, the most notable (and publicized) of which was the addition of Minnie Mouse as Winifred Sanderson, Daisy Duck as Sarah Sanderson, and Clarabelle Cow as Mary Sanderson. But that wasn’t all–there were also major changes to the Halloween Hoedown unit (new scarecrow dancers and more) and an expanded Villainous Finale, among other things.

Additionally, Max Goof and his Powerline party pack will appear at new pop-up parties throughout Magic Kingdom before this popular crew dances onto Main Street U.S.A. ahead of Mickey’s Boo-to-You Halloween Parade. This is a nice addition, and is a good way to see Powerline up close outside of the parade.

There’s also what’s essentially a “pirate takeover” of Adventureland, with the Rusty Cutlass singing sea shanties while their shipmates roam the land sharing tales of their explorations at sea. This adds atmospheric entertainment to Adventureland, similar to what’s already in Frontierland thanks to the Cadaver Dans and Country Bears.

The big character news is that the Seven Dwarfs have returned to Mickey’s Not-So-Scary Halloween Party, appearing in their former meet & greet location back in Storybook Circus. See How to Waste the Least Time Meeting the Seven Dwarfs at Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party if you plan on attending to do this meet & greet. It’s insanely popular and will take a ton of party time if you don’t plan properly.

If you’re visiting Walt Disney World and are hoping to purchase last-minute tickets to Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party on sold out dates, you might be able to do so outside the park at the Guest Relations window or inside City Hall on Main Street.

On occasion, there are same-day tickets available as a result of cancellations or other circumstances. If so, instead of the ‘sorry folks, tonight’s event is sold out’ sign pictured above, you’ll likely see one advising that a limited number of tickets are available for purchase.

For what it’s worth, we are not aware of any same-day MNSSHP tickets being sold recently. The most likely scenario for this to occur is when there are hurricane or other weather scares causing people to cancel their trips or plans. In other words, it’s a longshot–but worth trying, nevertheless!

Spanning portions of 3 different months, Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party “season” is the longest special event at Walt Disney World. But in fairness, the only reason that Christmas isn’t longer is because the timing of Halloween prevents it. Disney probably would start celebrating Christmas in July–literally–if they could!

Mickey’s Not-So-Scary Halloween Party takes place from 7 pm until midnight on evenings when it’s held. On MNSSHP dates, Magic Kingdom is open to regular guests from 8 am until 6 pm. (Despite the significantly shorter hours, these are good days to visit Magic Kingdom if you’re not attending the party. We explain why here.)

Ticket holders are admitted to Magic Kingdom as early as 4 pm on the valid date of their ticket–giving you more time to enjoy park favorites before the event begins. These date-specific event tickets do not require an additional day theme park ticket or theme park reservation.

Also during the party, you may have the opportunity to experience some of your favorite attractions, including the newly opened TRON Lightcycle Run. Here’s the list of attractions that will be open during the 2024 Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party:

Adventureland

  • Jungle Cruise
  • The Magic Carpets of Aladdin
  • Pirates of the Caribbean
  • Swiss Family Treehouse

Frontierland

  • Big Thunder Mountain Railroad
  • Tiana’s Bayou Adventure

Liberty Square

  • Haunted Mansion

Fantasyland

  • Prince Charming Regal Carrousel
  • “It’s a small world”
  • Peter Pan’s Flight
  • The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh
  • Mad Tea Party
  • Under the Sea ~ Journey of the Little Mermaid
  • Seven Dwarfs Mine Train

Storybook Circus

  • Dumbo the Flying Elephant
  • The Barnstormer

Tomorrowland

  • Astro Orbiter
  • Buzz Lightyear’s Space Ranger Spin
  • Monsters Inc. Laugh Floor
  • Space Mountain
  • Tomorrowland Speedway
  • Tomorrowland Transit Authority People Mover
  • TRON Lightcycle / Run

Last year, TRON Lightcycle Run used a virtual queue during Mickey’s Not-So-Scary Halloween Party, allowing guests to enjoy all the festivities while they wait to enter the Grid. It’s entirely possible that the virtual queues for both that and Tiana’s Bayou Adventure are retired before the 2024 Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party season starts.

At this point, it’s hard to say whether the 2024 Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party will be more or less crowded than last year. It could be worse, but it’s also possible that Walt Disney World lowered the attendance cap after complaints and price increases. Our anecdotal perception is that MNSSHP has been less overcrowded the last 2 years than it was in October 2019, but it’s still busier than prior to that.

We also believe that Disney typically increases the capacity cap in October when the earlier sunset allows extra entertainment to be added to the schedule. So it’s entirely possible that crowds will feel worse during the October parties than they d0 during the August and September ones. (On the plus side, the heat shouldn’t be nearly as bad!)

If you have questions about what the event does and does not include, crowds, and much more, see our Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party FAQ. We wrote that in response to the most common questions in the comments to this post. If you have a question, there’s a strong probability that FAQ answers it.

As for entertainment, here’s the Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party schedule:

Hocus Pocus Villain Spelltacular

  • August & September: 8:35 pm, 10:45 pm, 12 am
  • October: 7:40 pm, 8:35 pm, 10:45 pm, 12 am

Disney’s Not So Spooky Spectacular

  • 10:15 pm

Mickey’s Boo to You Halloween Parade

  • 9:15 pm and 11:15 pm

Cadaver Dans Barbershop Quartet

  • 7 pm, 7:45 pm, 8:30 pm, 9:50 pm, 10:30 pm

Storybook Circus Disney Junior Jam

  • 7 pm until midnight

Monstrous Scream-O-Ween Dance Ball

  • 7 pm until midnight

Rusty Cutlass Pirate Band in Adventureland

  • 7:15 pm, 8:15 pm, 9:15 pm, 10:30 pm, 11:20 pm

Max Goof’s Powerline Party Pack

  • Unscheduled Appearances

The map does not list specific meet & greet locations, but we have you covered:

Main Street USA

  • Sally & Jack Skellington – Town Square Theater (most popular meet & greet, line forms at 4 pm)
  • Mickey Mouse – Town Square Theater

Fantasyland

  • Ariel and Prince Eric – Prince Eric’s Village Market
  • Belle and Gaston – Maurice’s Cottage
  • Tigger, Pooh, Piglet, and Eeyore – The Thotful Spot near the Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh
  • Drizella and Anastasia – Fantasyland (roaming)
  • Seven Dwarfs – Storybook Circus (second-most popular meet & greet; line forms at 4 pm)
  • Timon – Storybook Circus
  • Vamprinia – Storybook Circus
  • Doc McStuffins – Storybook Circus
  • Fancy Nancy – Storybook Circus
  • Witch Minnie, Princess Daisy & Pumpkin Donald – Dumbo
  • Pirate Goofy – Barnstormer

Adventureland

  • Abu and Aladdin – Agrabah
  • Genie – Agrabah
  • Jafar – Near Agrabah
  • Jack Sparrow – Near Pirates of the Caribbean

Frontierland

  • Country Bears – Country Bear Theater (roaming)

Tommorrowland

  • Elvis Stitch – Buzz Lightyear’s Star Command

As for the enhancements to Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party from the past few years, the first is a replacement for Happy HalloWishes: the new “Disney’s Not-So-Spooky Spectacular.” These fireworks feature projections, pyro, and Jack Skellington from Nightmare Before Christmas as host.

Jack’s ghost dog, Zero, flies off to start this trick-or-treating adventure, where four friends — Mickey, Minnie, Donald and Goofy — find themselves drawn into a mysterious haunted house. The journey takes them from one room of the house to another, encountering dancing skeletons, waltzing ghosts, and a series of troublemaking Disney villains.

There are also several attractions across the park receive special enhancements just for Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party…

Monsters Inc. Laugh Floor – When you follow the treat trail into the Monster World at Monsters Inc. Laugh Floor, you’ll interact in spooky ways with the comic cast of monsters, as they learn about the curious Human World holiday we call Halloween.

Mad Tea Party – The teacups take you for a colorful ride with added lighting and effects providing a different nighttime atmosphere.

Space Mountain – Rocket ships hurtle through deep space as a special soundtrack and effects transform the adventure.

So you can prepare for the Halloween Party now, here is our analysis based upon the last several years to help you determine whether this expensive hard ticket event is worth it to you, and if so, what your “Plan of Attack” should be to efficiently conquer the various offerings. Between this party and Epcot’s International Food & Wine Festival, plus improving weather, the fall months at Walt Disney World are one of our favorite times of year to visit!

Also note that this guide covers Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party at Walt Disney World’s Magic Kingdom, not Mickey’s Halloween Party (now Oogie Boogie Bash) at Disneyland Resort. For info about the latter, read our comprehensive Guide to Halloween Time at Disneyland!

Should You Attend?

Given the high cost of Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party, you might be trying to determine, “is Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party worth the money?”

Our opinion on this question has changed over the years. It used to be an unequivocal yes. Then, as prices for the event nearly doubled, it became “yes if you want to splurge.” Now, with prices up and Walt Disney World having raised the attendance cap, it’s harder and harder to justify.

We still love the event. We don’t love the crowds or prices, but we go anyway. Probably in part because of nostalgia and in part because we have a good time enjoying the experience at a more relaxed pace. We don’t follow our own itinerary in this post since we’ve seen/done 75% of these things in previous years, so the stakes aren’t as high for us, so to speak. It’s simply a fun, albeit overpriced event.

If you can approach it from the perspective of not having to accomplish it all and being willing to overpay a bit for a truly fun and spooky evening in Magic Kingdom, we say go for it. Just don’t expect to leave thinking, “that was really worth the money.” At this point, it’s hard to come to that conclusion.

Another question we often receive is whether we prefer the Halloween Party or Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party. We are total suckers for Christmas, so we can’t answer that without bias. With that said, we prefer the Christmas Party, but probably two-thirds of people we know prefer the Halloween Party. Your mileage may vary.

Aside from the higher price, the biggest difference between the two parties is that the Halloween Party offers more special entertainment and character meet & greets. Personally, I enjoy the Christmas Party more, but I think it’s undeniable that there’s more to do at the Halloween Party.

There’s a lot of special entertainment including one of Disney’s best parades and a great fireworks show, a great ambiance to the party including special decorations and lighting, lots of unique character meet & greets, and even seeing other guests in Halloween costumes makes for a fun experience.

If you do decide to do the Halloween Party, make sure to buy your tickets in advance, and use any available discounts (Disney Vacation Club member, Annual Passholder, etc.). Tickets are more expensive on the day of the party, and several nights each year sell out completely. It’s wise to purchase party tickets early if you know you’re going. It would stink to wait until the last minute and have your dates sell out.

As for what you should do during Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party, here’s our guide to Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party…

General Tips

The first important tip is to pick the best day on your trip for Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party. Some nights are busier than others, and that post covers our tips for choosing the least-crowded dates. Disney prices these parties based on historical demand, so going on the cheapest party night you can is generally the best idea from both the perspective of saving money and avoiding crowds. Win-win!

In recent years, MNSSHP attendance has been, generally speaking, dramatically higher than previously. The last few years, every single night has sold out. Prior to that, it was common for only the first couple of nights plus most of October to sell out. It’ll be interesting to see whether this trend continues with the 2024 Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party. We’d bet that it will.

The second most important tip is to arrive early to Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party. The Party officially starts at 7 p.m., which is when all of the entertainment actually begins, but guests can enter with their Halloween Party tickets as early as 4 p.m. This is not something Walt Disney World advertises, but it absolutely is true, and you will see plenty of other guests arriving at 4 p.m., and Cast Members in their Halloween outfits at the turnstiles.

This earlier entry offers you potential savings to offset the cost of your tickets. Before we were Annual Passholders, we’d plan on doing Disney Springs or a water park the morning we went to the Halloween Party, which allowed us to purchase 1-day less on our park tickets. We highly recommend that you do the same! In other words, if you normally would buy a 5-day ticket for your trip, buy a 4-day ticket and do something besides one of the 4 theme parks before 4 p.m.

The additional day you’re not purchasing would have only added on ~$30 in cost to your total package, so we’re not talking a substantial amount here, but it makes the Halloween Party more economical. To save even more money on multi-day Walt Disney World tickets, we recommend buying from an authorized ticket broker selling cheaper tickets than you can buy directly from Disney.

Read our Tips for Buying Discount Walt Disney World Tickets Guide for more information about saving money on park tickets. You can’t buy Halloween Party tickets from these authorized ticket sellers, but the amount you save on your regular park tickets plus the savings on that extra day you’re not purchasing will help offset the added cost of the party tickets.

The next biggest tip is to wear a costume! Although Disney has had some tweaks to its security policy over the last few years, costumes are allowed for all guests.

Here’s Disney’s official word on costumes: “while costumed attire may be worn, guests ages 14 and older are strongly discouraged from wearing layered costumes or costume props that surround the entire body as they may be subject to additional security screening. Additionally, costumes may not contain any weapons that resemble or could easily be mistaken for an actual weapon.

At least half of the Guests who attend the party wear costumes, and it’s a lot more fun if you do. You’re spending a fair chunk of change to attend one of these parties, make sure you get as much value for your money as possible by wearing a costume.

You don’t need to buy some expensive costume from the store–make one at home from items you buy at a thrift shop. Sarah and I attended Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party as the following: astronauts; an elf and princess; and “Cute Minnie” and a Toy Story Alien, among other things. Most of the time, our costumes are pretty lame as compared to other guests, but we still have a lot of fun!

For costumes, go inexpensive, simple, and most importantly…LIGHTWEIGHT. We have a Guide to Halloween Costumes for the Disney Parks that covers the nuts and bolts. Suffice to say, we have worn heavier costumes, and let me tell you what a mistake that was. It may be cooler at nighttime in the fall, but it’s still Florida, and it’s still humid and hot.

A final tip is to pass on the Disney’s Not So Spooky Spectacular Dessert Party at Tomorrowland Terrace. This is comparable to the regular fireworks dessert party, except with Halloween-decorated desserts. (Read more in Dining & Dessert Parties During Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party.)

Beyond being a waste of money, the dessert party is a waste of time. There are just too many other great things to do at Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party (it’s unlikely you can do all of the regular entertainment in a single night) to justify attending a dessert party. It’s just not worth taking the time from the regular awesome entertainment of the Halloween party to do this. Plus, the idea of another upcharge event within an upcharge event just makes us cringe.

With that said, let’s start to get into the details of arriving at Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party with a plan for how you should approach the evening entertainment and characters. We have a Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party Itinerary on Page 2.

Arrive at 4 p.m., grab an event map for a refresher as to what is located where and entertainment showtimes, eat an early dinner, do an attraction or two, and knock out a couple of daytime PhotoPass Magic Shots for Halloween. Once 6 pm hits, it’s time to get ready to party, and time to initiate your Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party attack-plan to do and see as much as you can.

If at all possible, find a way to avoid trick or treating or save it until the end of the night. It is a major time drain, and you could buy a bag of candy yourself for like $3. It may be difficult to convince kids not to trick or treat, but if you can, find a way. There is so much entertainment during the Halloween Party that you won’t get everything done even if you don’t trick or treat and don’t do any attractions.

From here, we will start with our plan of attack to efficiently accomplish as much as possible during MNSSHP on PAGE 2.

1,118 Responses to “2024 Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party Guide”
  1. Katherine June 23, 2024
  2. David May 30, 2024
    • David May 30, 2024
  3. Amy A May 22, 2024
    • Tom Bricker May 22, 2024
  4. Patti May 21, 2024
    • Christina May 22, 2024
  5. Patti May 21, 2024
  6. Christopher May 19, 2024
    • Allison May 19, 2024
  7. Becky May 16, 2024
    • Tom Bricker May 16, 2024
  8. Marisa May 15, 2024
    • Allison May 15, 2024
    • Marisa May 16, 2024
  9. Roy February 20, 2024
  10. Paula October 16, 2023
  11. Amanda September 29, 2023
  12. Sonya September 24, 2023
  13. Melissa September 16, 2023
  14. Melissa September 12, 2023
  15. andy September 12, 2023
  16. Jessica August 11, 2023

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *