Disney’s Port Orleans Resort – French Quarter Review

french-quarter-gators-daytime-clouds-walt-disney-world

Port Orleans French Quarter is a Moderate Resort hotel at Walt Disney World with a romanticized New Orleans theme. This review features amenity and room photos, thoughts on the resort, and our take on whether staying here offers good value for money. Although it previously ranked last on our list of Moderate Resort Hotel Rankings at Walt Disney World, we were eager to experience the “sister resort” of one of our favorite Moderates, Port Orleans Resort – Riverside.

French Quarter is popular among a lot of Disney fans because of its relatively compact size, which is–save for theme–its biggest distinction from the other Moderates. Whereas Moderate Resorts are typically the largest in terms of number of rooms and sprawling size, French Quarter has fewer rooms and a small footprint.

Port Orleans French Quarter is the last on-property hotel at Walt Disney World to check off of our list as places we both have stayed. (I stayed here years ago in my BS (“Before Sarah”) days.) Only among Disney fans is this a badge of honor, and it’s one we both proudly wear. The reason it took so long for us to stay here together was that Port Orleans French Quarter is, by far, the hardest place to score a deal.

Note that Port Orleans French Quarter is often excluded from Free Dining, and only has a 0-5% discount while the other Moderates have 20-25% discounts in room-only promotions.

On rare occasion, the price for French Quarter is effectively as much or more than the lower-end Deluxe Resorts like Wilderness or Animal Kingdom Lodges. In those cases, you’re absolutely better off choosing one of the lodges.

port-orleans-french-quarter-disney-world-011

July 2018 Update: Since originally publishing this review a few years ago, we’ve stayed at Port Orleans French Quarter many times. It’s actually become our go-to Moderate, particularly as Caribbean Beach and Coronado Springs undergo massive refurbishment projects.

Our most recent stay at Port Orleans French Quarter was in Summer 2018, shortly after the completion of the hotel’s soft goods refurbishment project. You can see how things have changed in our new Refurbished Rooms at Port Orleans French Quarter post. Suffice to say, POFQ now ranks as one of our favorite hotels at Walt Disney World–it has really grown on us!

port-orleans-french-quarter-disney-world-017

I should preface this review by saying I’m not a huge fan of New Orleans. This probably will not endear me to some readers, particularly those residing in Louisiana.

I’ve been to New Orleans a few times–beyond the raucous, touristy areas like Bourbon Street–and I’ve always found that the praise about the charm and culture heaped upon the place by locals is inaccurate, at least to a degree.

port-orleans-french-quarter-disney-world-018

This isn’t to say New Orleans is without its redeeming qualities. To be sure, the city has a vibrant and rich culture, plus great culinary and music scenes. I just don’t think it ranks as one of the greatest cities in the world, as many contend.

It’s as if they are viewing the city through extremely rose-colored glasses, and envisioning a romanticized version of New Orleans that does not exist in reality. Or, at least, does not exist in Louisiana.

Walt Disney World May 2012 055

What does all of this talk about New Orleans have to do with Disney’s Port Orleans Resort – French Quarter? Well, I think it is the New Orleans that exists in the hearts and minds of many people.

While Disney’s versions of New Orleans Square in Disneyland and at French Quarter are romanticized (almost to a fault), I’ll readily admit that I prefer them to the actual New Orleans.

port-orleans-french-quarter-disney-world-009

Sure, they are incomplete depictions that lack that lived-in feeling and true culture, but both New Orleans Square and French Quarter evoke the romantic feeling of New Orleans.

While French Quarter doesn’t hit the same thematic high notes as New Orleans Square, there is a lot to like about it. From the quaint promenades lined with gas street lamps to the fountains that serenade passers-by, French Quarter is a pretty romantic resort.

port-orleans-french-quarter-disney-world-012

There are some places where French Quarter does look like a boxy, dressed up motel, but in most regards, the theme works, and in greater depth than is found at other Moderates.

I really like the theme at Caribbean Beach Resort, for example, but what I really like about this theme does not extend to the buildings of the hotel themselves. They look like hotel room boxes plunked down in the midst of the Caribbean environs.

port-orleans-french-quarter-disney-world-015

This is not nearly as pronounced at Port Orleans French Quarter, where the buildings are dressed up to look like what you’d see in New Orleans, with the same style of wrought iron lattice common there.

They are still basic in style, but the buildings do a much better job of conveying theme than any other Moderate (except some of the buildings in Port Orleans Riverside), making the whole place more immersive. Suffice to say, there’s really a lot to like about the theme at Port Orleans French Quarter.

Walt Disney World May 2012 058

…And that’s before we even start talking about the house band of alligators that performs around the Doubloon Lagoon pool. Well, performs is a strong word since they are inanimate objects, but I still rather enjoy these gators (they’re much better than the animate kind that also inhabit Walt Disney World!).

They give the resort a sense of whimsy without overtly cartoonifying the theme, which I consider a big plus; I’m sure families appreciate these gators, too.

port-orleans-french-quarter-pool

In addition to this swinging band, there’s also a giant snake-like creature that makes up the pool slide. This is a solid pool, and that 51-foot water slide is a big reason why. The location is convenient, the size is large, and it has a fun vibe. I’d say the only Moderate with a better pool is Caribbean Beach, and that’s only because I’m a sucker for forts with cannons.

Now, you might be asking, “why is King Triton riding a water dragon at a New Orleans-themed resort?” Well, actually, that ‘water dragon’ is actually a sea serpent, and ‘King Triton’ is actually King Neptune, God of the Sea. King Neptune is a popular figure in New Orleans, with a Krewe that honors him. I don’t know what ties the all-gator band has to New Orleans, but they are just awesome, so do you really need any ties there?

port-orleans-french-quarter-disney-world-016

In terms of other amenities, French Quarter has a good slate. The horsedrawn carriages are perhaps the highlight in terms of uniqueness (and in further enhancing that romantic theme), but most guests probably aren’t going to pay for a carriage ride.

port-orleans-french-quarter-disney-world-007

Other plusses include the high quality Sassagoula Floatworks & Food Factory, the Sassagoula boat transportation to Riverside, and the efficient bus transportation (no internal stops!). There are also some downsides to these amenities.

Sassagoula Food & Floatworks is good…but there’s no table service restaurant. The efficient bus service can become very inefficient during off-season times if it becomes shared with Riverside (which does have internal stops).

port-orleans-french-quarter-disney-world-008

Given the close proximity of Port Orleans Riverside, either by walking path or boat service, you also effectively gain the amenities of that sister resort (which is why French Quarter no longer has a table service restaurant). This is nice in that it provides greater variety in terms of counter service meals, lounge, and shopping.

Now let’s take a look at the rooms…

port-orleans-french-quarter-disney-world-001

I go back and forth on the rooms at Port Orleans French Quarter. On the one hand, I think they are classier than the norm, with a nice wood headboard, simple yet elegant carpet, and a bit of lattice…

port-orleans-french-quarter-disney-world-006

…On the other hand, the rooms are sort of basic, especially as compared to other resorts that have recently refurbished their rooms to make better use of space, adding some added flourishes in the process.

port-orleans-french-quarter-disney-world-003

Like all other Moderates, the rooms feature a split bath, with double sinks outside and the toilet and shower/tub in a separate room.

port-orleans-french-quarter-disney-world-004

This separated setup is nice, save for the size of the bathroom. Ever heard the term water closet? Totally apt here, as this is roughly the size of a closet. Par for the course with Walt Disney World hotels below the Deluxe level, though.

port-orleans-french-quarter-disney-world-005

The biggest highlight for me was the Herb Ryman concept art for New Orleans Square on the wall, classing up the joint even more.

port-orleans-french-quarter-disney-world-002

They certainly aren’t the epitome of luxury, and the comfort of the beds leaves something to be desired, but the rooms are sufficiently spacious and get the job done. I guess the best way to describe them would be thematically tasteful but relatively basic. Not necessarily high praise, but you could do a lot worse.

Walt Disney World May 2012 059

Overall, there is a lot to like about Port Orleans Resort – French Quarter, especially if you have sentimentality for New Orleans or prefer hotels with compact footprints. The latter is probably going to be a big deal for families, and is a huge selling point of Port Orleans French Quarter. I am an oddball in that I typically prefer a more spread out resort to explore, but I had the best of both worlds here as I could explore the combined Port Orleans Resorts and take advantage of the compact (single) French Quarter resort when going to catch a bus. I also enjoyed the theme much more than I expected, and found there to be some really lovely touches.

The rooms didn’t wow me, but with only 2 people, in our room, that wasn’t a big deal to us. The bigger deal ordinarily would be the lack of discounts typically available here. I would only consider French Quarter if it had discounts on par with the other Moderates, as it doesn’t have enough to separate it from the others to justify a higher price point. All things being equal, though, it’s a solid Moderate worthy of consideration if you want a compact resort with a romantic theme for your Walt Disney World vacation.

Planning a Walt Disney World trip? If you’re interested in learning more about hotels, our Walt Disney World Hotels Reviews page is a good place to start. For where to eat, try out our Walt Disney World Restaurant Reviews page. If you want to save money on tickets or determine which type you should get, read our Tips for Saving Money on Walt Disney World Tickets post. Our What to Pack for Disney Trips post takes a unique look at unconventional things you should take on your trip. Once you arrive at the parks, our Walt Disney World “Ride Guides” are great for determining what to do and when to do it. For overviews of all of these topics and so much more, the best place to start is our comprehensive Walt Disney World Trip Planning Guide to make the most of your experience!

Your Thoughts…

Have you stayed at Port Orleans Resort – French Quarter? Agree or disagree with my assessment? Disagree with my take on NOLA? Any additional tips to add regarding French Quarter? Planning on staying here? We love hearing from you, so please share your thoughts or any questions about the hotel in the comments below!


27 Responses to “Disney’s Port Orleans Resort – French Quarter Review”
  1. Grandma6 November 24, 2018
  2. Kim October 30, 2018
  3. Amy H September 5, 2017
    • Deanna September 27, 2017
    • Beth August 10, 2018
  4. Lynne Bishop May 25, 2017
    • Nicole June 19, 2017
  5. Veronica Shine January 14, 2017
  6. mike kelliher April 13, 2016
  7. Sarah Munk December 26, 2015
  8. William Lambeth November 22, 2015
    • Tom Bricker November 24, 2015
    • Amanda Yoder January 27, 2018
  9. Amy November 21, 2015
    • MIndy November 23, 2015
      • Tom Bricker November 24, 2015
  10. Beth November 20, 2015
  11. Carl November 20, 2015
  12. Kori November 20, 2015
    • Tom Bricker November 20, 2015
  13. Susan November 20, 2015
    • Tom Bricker November 20, 2015
  14. Shannon November 20, 2015
  15. Lauren Z November 19, 2015
  16. Lauren Z November 19, 2015
    • Sarah Munk December 26, 2015
  17. Barbara November 19, 2015

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *