Be Our Guest Restaurant Lunch Review

The closed gates of Be Our Guest Restaurant in Walt Disney World's New Fantasyland.


Be Our Guest Restaurant in New Fantasyland is the best counter service option in the Magic Kingdom at Walt Disney World. Here, you step inside Beast’s Castle in a restaurant themed to Beauty and the Beast. It’s a 2015 Disney Dining Plan participant as a one-credit counter service restaurant at lunch, and as a one-credit table service restaurant at dinner. At lunch, it makes our list of the best counter service values when on the Disney Dining Plan, but it just missed our list for the best values on the Dining Plan at dinner.

Both the lunch counter service and dinner table service menus feature French-inspired cuisine, and although the menus are ambitious for the usually unadventurous Magic Kingdom restaurants, most guests will find something that appeals to them at Be Our Guest Restaurant.

We’ve dined here a few times over the course of the last couple of years, and each time Be Our Guest Restaurant impresses us a bit more (we have updated this review several times since our first time eating here). During my last meal here, I finally had the chance to dine in the West Wing, which really put the experience over the top for me.

Why is Be Our Guest Restaurant so popular? Let’s take a look…

be-our-guest-morning-sunburst

Be Our Guest Restaurant is only a couple of years old, and there’s still a ton of demand for this new restaurant, making dinner reservations difficult to score. When we have visited for lunch, we have encountered waits of around 15 to 40 minutes, and it usually takes another 10 minutes or so to receive our food after we complete our order.

be-our-guest-restaurant-032

The process for dining at Be Our Guest Restaurant continues to evolve. Recently, Disney announced that it will soon eliminate FastPass+ booking of the restaurant, but announced the introduction of a new ADR system, which will launch February 25, 2015. This is great news for off-site Walt Disney World guests, as it will allow any guests to make lunch ADRs for Be Our Guest, and will also allow the pre-ordering of their meals.

walt-disney-world-food-103

In the interim, or if you’re unable to get an ADR, we recommend getting in line just before the restaurant opens–if you wait until the noon hour, don’t be surprised if you’re in line outside for 30 minutes or more. We shall see how the system continues to evolve, but don’t be surprised if things change again–Disney has tweaked the process numerous times since Be Our Guest Restaurant opened, and it seems like it’s now one step away from being a table service restaurant for both lunch and dinner (we wouldn’t be surprised to see this happen eventually, as it would make the restaurant easier for Disney to operate).

DSC_8825

This only bears mentioning for emphasis, as I’m sure most people reading this are already somewhat familiar with Be Our Guest Restaurant, but the place is incredibly lavish and the top to bottom details and effects are stunning. People aren’t kidding when they say that this is one of the highlights of the New Fantasyland expansion.

be-our-guest-sunburst-path

Personally, I think Seven Dwarfs Mine Train is the crown jewel of New Fantasyland, but Be Our Guest Restaurant is a lavishly designed restaurant, and is arguably a more impressive experience (for what it is) than Under the Sea ~ Journey of the Little Mermaid.

be-our-guest-armour

I find that simultaneously cool and disappointing. It’s great that so much effort went into making this restaurant an awesome experience. It’s disappointing that a highlight of a multi-year expansion billed as the “biggest in Magic Kingdom history” is a restaurant. We highly value restaurants at Walt Disney World (probably more than the average guest), but we still see attractions as the heart of the experience.

be-our-guest-restaurant-002

In the grand scheme of things, New Fantasyland loses points with me for Be Our Guest Restaurant being one of the best element of the expansion (this was especially true before Seven Dwarfs Mine Train opened when Be Our Guest Restaurant was the best part of the expansion, not that it has opened and that’s the best thing, it doesn’t bother me so much).

beasts-castle-dusk

In the confined context of this review, which is only of Be Our Guest Restaurant, the restaurant gains a lot of points for that incredible detail. If you step foot in New Fantasyland without going inside Be Our Guest Restaurant you have not had the full experience of the expansion.

The entrance to Be Our Guest Restaurant in New Fantasyland at Walt Disney World. Do you think Beast destroyed the rest of that archway? For more information about this restaurant, read our review: http://www.disneytouristblog.com/be-our-guest-restaurant-lunch-review/

The details and theming are incredible, but they largely speak for themselves. I won’t bore you by fixating on them, except by pointing out a couple of things I don’t like.

Beast-Castle-Sunset

First, Beast’s Castle that sits atop the rockwork. It seems like everyone else is gushing over the amazing forced perspective here, but I don’t think it works. To me, it looks like a toy castle perched up there. I seem to be in the minority on this, though.

DSC_8799

Second, the ballroom is gorgeous, but because of its large size and noise level, it feels like an oddly luxurious mess hall to me. Finally, I don’t care for the lifelike look of the faces of the babies painted on the ceiling of the ballroom (in some cases they look arbitrary pasted onto the bodies). I realize this is an Imagineer tribute, but I just don’t think it works. On the one hand, having real children up there gives some character to the art.

On the other hand, using real people instead of generic babies draws too much attention to each individual baby and looks a little creepy. I think that “generic” babies would convey the “feel” of the art they’re going for, without causing unduly visual fixation. I’m generally all for Imagineer tributes and others seem to like this, so again, maybe this is just me.

be-our-guest-restaurant-029

This brings me to the question of “where to dine.” As you might know, Be Our Guest Restaurant has three very different dining rooms: the Ballroom, the Rose Gallery, and the West Wing. For the reasons discussed above, I’m not a fan of the Ballroom. However, it is by far the easiest place to grab a table, and kids might like this location best.

Above is the Rose Gallery. It’s much more intimate, has some pretty details (like the dancing Belle and Beast music box pictured above), and some pretty paintings and tapestries on the wall. This room has the most relaxed and quiet feel of the three rooms.

be-our-guest-west-wing

Then, there’s the West Wing. You know, the West Wing. The place you’re not supposed to go. Apparently, no Walt Disney World guests have actually seen Beauty and the Beast, that, or they refuse to heed the warnings repeated throughout the movie. 😉

be-our-guest-west-wing-rose

The refusal to heed these warnings is absolutely understandable, because the West Wing is totally awesome. Lightning and thunder reverberate through the room. The decor is shredded. Lights are low and foreboding. There’s a glowing rose with petals slowly falling…

It’s by far the best-themed of the rooms, and has a truly ominous feeling to it. Our first 3 times dining at Be Our Guest Restaurant, we couldn’t eat in here because it was so packed, with other guests waiting for tables. It took me visiting by myself and just hovering in the corner like a creep for 15 minutes before I was finally I able to dine here. Totally worth it.

(As a bit of an aside–we don’t have kids, but I could see younger children potentially be frightened by this room. YMMV.)

DSC_8805

Be Our Guest Restaurant uses an RFID ordering system that is surely a part of the big NextGen initiative that Disney has been undertaking for the last couple of years. To my knowledge, it’s the first newly constructed restaurant to use RFID in this way. Basically, you tap this rose before ordering your meal from a touchscreen, and take the rose to any table that strikes your fancy.

Cast Members then bring your food to you based on where the rose “says” you are. So if you really want to punk someone good, deposit your rose below their table after ordering and watch them get flustered and upset as your food is given to them. I highly suggest you try this prank on us if you ever see us at Be Our Guest Restaurant! 😉

DSC_8801

The first time we dined at Be Our Guest Restaurant, we did so with easyWDW Josh; you can read his review of the experience here. He ordered the Braised Pork – Slow Cooked Pork with Vegetables and Bacon with Mashed Potatoes and Green Beans Jardiniere, which was a low calorie option. He seemed to enjoy it for what it was, and he indicated that he’d highly recommend it even though it wasn’t a lot of food.

walt-disney-world-food-104

One motif of Be Our Guest’s lunch menu seems to be ambitious, but slightly undersized entrees. This isn’t such a bad thing, as you’ll probably want to get a soup (French Onion!) plus another entree plus dessert, which will be expensive, but a delicious experience. The restaurant actually feels like it’s striving for an experience somewhere between counter service and table service in terms of quality. We view this as a good thing, as it’s a serious upgrade over much of the forgettable dining in the Magic Kingdom. However, if you’re on a budget, have a huge appetite, or are a really picky eater, this may be a problem.

DSC_8812

Here’s the Quinoa Salad with Green Beans, Potatoes, Olives, Roasted Red Peppers, Golden Beets, and Tomatoes. Sarah loves this salad. She is a big fan of quinoa, and was impressed to find something like this at a Magic Kingdom counter service restaurant. As the “victim” (or survivor?) of a quinoa-addicted spouse, I can say with some certainty that reasonable people would find this–and any other “food” containing quinoa–disgusting. I have had my fair share of quinoa, and it is never good. It’s only remotely palatable when heavily seasoned; most of the time it’s bland and not worth consuming.

If you like quinoa and/or salad, you might give it a try, but unless you are really concerned about eating healthy, I think there are much more intriguing options on the menu. It’s also worth noting that Sarah ended up being hungry again two hours after we had lunch, though, so you might be better off spending your $10+ on something more substantial and filling.

be-our-guest-restaurant-027 copy

Here’s the Tuna Nicoise Salad. Sarah liked this even more than the Quinoa Salad, which is saying something. Here, you get warm seared tuna steak with chilled green beans, potatoes, olives, roasted bell peppers, tomatoes, and a poached egg. This isn’t your typical, half-hearted Walt Disney World salad. The salad is fresh and features quality ingredients, and the seared tuna steak gives it a great flavor and some protein. I’m not a salad guy, and even I would consider ordering this in the future. This is definitely a solid choice.

be-our-guest-restaurant-029 copy

Here’s the Carved Prime Chuck Roast Beef Sandwich, another more recent addition to the Be Our Guest Restaurant menu. Of the things I’ve had, this is the highlight.

walt-disney-world-food-105

You can order it cooked to your preference (a nice touch) and the meat is fairly high quality, as is the baguette on which it’s served. Horseradish Sour Cream ties the whole thing together, making this one of the best counter service entrees in all of the Magic Kingdom.

be-our-guest-sandwich-161

I’ve also had the Croque Monsieur – Grilled Sandwich with Carved Ham, Gruyere Cheese, and Bechamel with Pommes Frites. It was a good sandwich, but small for the price (even by Disney standards). It’s not something I’d order again, nor would I recommend trying it unless there’s nothing else on the menu that interests you. Not that it’s bad, it’s just nothing special.

walt-disney-world-food-107

One final item for the “entrees” is the French Onion Soup. I’m not normally big on soups, but this was delicious, with the melted cheese and slightly salty broth being a lethal combination. And by lethal, I mean that this is something you’ll find yourself craving after your trip, causing you to start thinking about booking another trip, which would be “lethal” to your finances. A bit of a stretch, but we go for the dramatic here! 😉

be-our-guest-restaurant-028 copy

It took Walt Disney World nearly a year, but they finally caved to guest demand and added the Grey Stuff Cupcake to the regular menu. We thought it was pretty good, but not as great as the hype led us to believe. More than anything, this is a novelty dessert offered so that people can say, “try the grey stuff, it’s delicious” and post photos with “clever” captions on Facebook and Instagram. It will not go down as one of the best snacks in the Magic Kingdom, even if it is really popular. There’s nothing wrong with a little novelty and it’s worth a try for that reason alone, but it’s a bit of a stretch to say “it’s delicious” about this dessert.

DSC_8819

For dessert, we have also had the Lemon Meringue and Strawberry Cupcakes. Sarah really liked both of these, I only liked the Strawberry cupcake (I don’t care for lemon meringue in general, though, so my opinion is worthless on that cupcake).

DSC_8822

For some reason I was expecting these to be cheesecake (my bad–they’re clearly labeled as cupcakes on the menu). I don’t know if it was just my expectations for a cheesecake or if this was actually the case, but I found them to be a tad dry. Still good and worth the price.

be-our-guest-restaurant-001

Before heading out, make sure to wander around a bit to explore the rest of the restaurant, especially the West Wing, if you didn’t get a chance to dine there.

As a note for those wanting nice photos…turn off your flash. I’ve noticed that almost everyone uses their flashes when photographing the rose and at the snowfall outside the ballroom. If you want good photos of these effects, you need to turn off your flash and use manual settings, as flash sort of ruins the effect.

Overall, Be Our Guest Restaurant gets high marks in this review. Very high marks. From the ambitious menu to the ambiance and theming, Be Our Guest Restaurant is a winner that will be popular for years to come. I still think I slightly prefer the overall experience at Gaston’s Tavern in New Fantasyland, but that’s just personal preference. Regardless, both are very good, and each bring something unique to the table. Be Our Guest Restaurant is right up there with Sci-Fi Dine-In Theater as one of coolest and best-themed restaurants at Walt Disney World, despite some thematic misfires. The restaurant also scores points with us for trying more inventive cuisine, which should be lauded given that this is a restaurant located in the kid’s haven of New Fantasyland in the Magic Kingdom. It is worth noting that Disney has tinkered with the menu here a lot, so you should check a current menu before you get your heart set on any of these items when planning.

It’s clear that you’re paying a premium for the location, as menu prices seem higher than the Magic Kingdom norm, and entrees are slightly smaller for some items, but we think it’s worth it for what amounts to a premium counter service restaurant. All things considered, after a few meals here over the course of the last couple of years, Be Our Guest Restaurant has slowly grown on us and taken the crown as our favorite Magic Kingdom restaurant. It’s a must-visit for lunch, especially if you’re unable to score the elusive Be Our Guest dinner reservations.

Planning a Disney trip? Read our Walt Disney World Trip Planning Guide for comprehensive vacation advice, from saving money on park tickets to which attractions to do to the best hotels, and much more!

For updates on Walt Disney World, the latest news, and tips, sign up for our free monthly newsletter!

Overall Score: 9.5/10

Read our other Walt Disney World restaurant reviews and Disney Dining Plan resources

Your Thoughts…

What do you think of Be Our Guest Restaurant? Is it worth the wait? Does it live up to the hype? Share your thoughts in the comments!

468 ad

91 Responses to “Be Our Guest Restaurant Lunch Review”

  1. Tim says:

    It’s not just you, the tribute babies don’t quite work.

  2. Jessica says:

    Great review. I was here the week before Grand Opening during “preview” and we ate here for lunch. It was a great experience for the area. We waited about 30 – 45 mins outside at peak lunch time, and about 20 minutes inside. Although, most of that was waiting for everyone to figure out how to use the touchscreen menu. I didn’t find it as a hard concept, but those of the “older” crowd had a tough time.

    I made sure to look at the forced perspective of the castles and I actually find beast’s castle to look really good. I didn’t feel it was odd looking or out of place. Maybe, I just happened to stand at the right angle?

    Great review! Love reading your blogs!

    • Tom Bricker says:

      Out of curiosity, given the forced perspective, how tall does Beast’s Castle look to you in comparison to Cinderella Castle? The same height? Half as tall? Etc.?

  3. Caleb says:

    I agree with you about the castle. I was very excited to see it when we went in December and I was very underwhelmed by what I saw I got there.

  4. Jami says:

    I completely 99% agreed with your review, the 1% is because I enjoyed the Croq Monsieur. :) The force perspective of the castle is just weird. It looks tiny and out of place. Inside the restaurant is beautiful but the babies are creepy :) We’ve dined here for lunch and dinner. The fries weren’t anything special but I was somewhat impressed with the kids menu. I felt dinner was better. It wasn’t quite as “mess hall” like. The thyme scented pork rack chop entree was incredible and I don’t typically enjoy pork. My husband ordered it and it was really good thanks to the red wine au jus. I had the layered ratatouille, which was also fairly good for being all veggies and quinoa. I snuck some of the red wine au jus from my husbands and poured it over. It was a good call :)

    • Tom Bricker says:

      I thought the sandwich was good, just not great–especially for $11.

      I can’t wait to eat there for dinner. Given the difficulty of obtaining ADRs, at this point that won’t be until 2016 for us! :)

      • Valerie says:

        We planned a trip with my family in April, the week after Easter, and got an ADR for 9 pm! Never thought we’d be eating that late, but we really wanted to try it! (And have a glass of wine/beer in MK!)

      • Tammy says:

        We just had dinner tonight @ Be My Guest. We couldn’t score ADRs either so just walked up about 4:30 and were told it was a 45 minute wait. We chose to wait and it ended up only being about 20 minutes. The food was amazing. We were in the West Wing which was fun. They also have some new menu items including a desert called “gray stuff” which was really tasty. I recommend…just be aware that it is a very very expensive experience!

      • MrsM says:

        I’ve heard it’s very hard to get a reservation for dinner but in my experience it doesn’t seem to be. We went with a party of 9 in peak season. I called late in the day at the 180 mark. With a larger party we had to settle on an 8pm reservation but that wasn’t much later than we had wanted to eat so it was fine and well worth it. Since that trip I’ve played around with Disney’s dining reservation page. I’ve been able to find tons of reservations 180 days out from random dates and still a few only a few weeks out with no problem. I’ve never looked for times around Christmas so I don’t know about that but I’ve found stuff every other time of year.

  5. Rachel says:

    I am hoping that the Seven Dwarfs mine train becomes the highlight attraction for New Fantasyland. Right now BOG seems to be the highlight because Ariel was already at Disneyland.

  6. Betsy says:

    Try the carved turkey sandwich next time – my friend and I split that and the croque monsieur. Eating 1/2 of each sandwich was pretty filling. My friend and I both agreed that eating in the restaurant was our second favorite experience in New Fantasyland (second only in our opinion to meeting Gaston and having a snack by the fireplace in “his” tavern).

    • Tom Bricker says:

      I came really close to trying that! Next time. My favorite experience was actually Gaston’s Tavern. I know it’s the smaller draw of the two restaurants, but I think it works really well for an intimate setting, and I think they really hit a home run with it!

      • Tim says:

        Gaston’s Tavern is quietly one of the most successfully transportive spaces in the New Fantasyland. While Be Our Guest is indeed a very nice piece of work it feels all the world like a theme park eatery built for the logistics of large crowds and the RFID-based ordering system. Gaston’s feels somewhat more to scale and, in its way, more “realistic” with a better sense of place.

      • Betsy says:

        Because it seems to be overshadowed by Be Our Guest, even at peak times of day, I was able to spend some time here each day from Dec 20th-22nd, relaxing, enjoying a coke or charging my cell phone. For me, Gaston’s is definitely a must-do the next time I’m in the MK, while BOG will be something I will probably only do if I’m with a first-timer to NF. I enjoyed BOG, but for many of the reasons you outlined, Gaston’s is the real gem and my favorite part of NF.

  7. Kathy says:

    Totally agree about the castle. It’s beautiful but something is not quite right.

  8. You, with the quinoa and dry cupcake love… you’re cracking me up! It’s so refreshing anytime I read an honest Disney review post. I love Disney dearly, but at times I tire of the endless “every single thing is perfectly Magical” commentary from the Disney blogger community. =/

    My reaction to New Fantasyland having a NEW CASTLE **gasp** be nothing but a restaurant struck me the same way – disappointing, and in some ways unfair. I don’t think big families on a budget eat at the park restaurants. :(

    Thanks for the tips, Tom – this is a great post. We’re headed here in a couple of weeks and will try lunch, couldn’t get in for dinner. Very excited!!

    • Tom Bricker says:

      I know what you’re saying, but I think it’s really sad that it’s “refreshing” to read an honest Disney review. Shouldn’t ALL reviews be honest?

      Unfortunately, I think what you’re saying is becoming more and more the case. Part of it is natural: if people are blogging about a given topic, there’s a fair chance that they are biased towards that topic (myself included). I love Disney–I mean why else would I start a blog about it? The potential difficulty is putting this bias aside and writing objectively (or as objectively as possible). Instead, this bias often comes through in the blogger’s writing, and the blogger looks at things with rose-colored glasses instead of being even remotely objective. Even if people strongly disagree with my opinions, I hope they at least realize that they are my real opinions.

      I think there are also some unsavory reasons as to why you see more dishonest reviews. Some bloggers think there is more of a market for “everything is pixie dust and magic!” than there is objective posts. Sadly, this is probably true. A large number of Disney fans want affirmation of their undying love for the Disney, and don’t take kindly to constructive commentary about their “happy place.”

      To each their own, I suppose, but I’m not going to compromise my sense of ethics by spouting off a bunch of nonsense that I don’t believe. If people don’t like this blog because I offer criticism or they don’t like my style, oh well. Fortunately, there are numerous Disney sites that do offer objective commentary that “offset” the ones that are all lollipops and rainbows.

      • Tim says:

        I sometimes fear for the future of online discussion about Disney because there seems to be little room for nuance in the criticisms. Either something is wonderful and flawless or a complete failure and travesty with no shades of gray. I know this is a much larger topic than what can be covered here but it is refreshing to find a place where the pluses and minuses of Disney attractions can be examined without the conversation being quickly derailed.

  9. Tracy says:

    I enjoyed our experience but I agree I didn’t care for the babies faces on the ceiling. I love a tribute but this one was way too much and too personal. I also had the pork at lunch and thought it was a very good portion. Way too much meat for me to eat in one sitting. My husband had the turkey sandwich and it was also a good size and very good. I look forward to going again.

    • Tom Bricker says:

      Very interesting. I’m glad to hear that you had two meals with portions that were a good size. Hopefully after trying a few other options, my opinion of the cuisine will improve a little.

  10. mitch says:

    Booked this for our anniversary dinner in April. Hoping it’s awesome!

  11. Vicki says:

    Did you take a pic of your sandwich? I found it interesting that it was small. We ate lunch there on Halloween – my husband’s birthday button worked some Disney magic. I had that sandwich & it was huge, like the size of two normal sandwiches. I wonder if they changed it after the preview. I agree with you about the fries – meh. We tried the soups, which were amazing.

    • Tom Bricker says:

      Yeah, I took a picture of the sandwich. I’ll add it to this post when I have a chance.

      Your sandwich was huge?! I wonder if portion sizes were “adjusted” during previews?

  12. Maureen says:

    I also agree with your perspective on the castle and thought I was the only one as well.. I think more thought and cash flow should have gone into that castle and the people having access to it. My 7 year daughter asked right away, ” Can we go in there?… but I guess that would be going into the restaurant?? As always I enjoyed your writing :)

    • Tom Bricker says:

      I think if your child asks if you can go inside Beast’s Castle, perhaps the forced perspective has work…at least for them? So I guess that’s a victory!

      My answer would be that you are inside the Castle once you enter the restaurant. Of course that makes little sense as the doors are right at the edge of the rockwork (I at least expected you to walk through a bit of “rockwork queue” before entering the restaurant to give a bit of distance between guests and their last view of Beast’s Castle. I think that’s probably why it’s unconvincing–you can see the doors that lead inside AND the small castle from the same spot.

  13. Megan Bliss says:

    I completely agree about the castle and I thank you for including it in your blog. My husband, Tyler, a Tom Bricker enthusiast, got annoyed with me for constantly complaining about the toy castle set on top of giant rocks. I was very excited to show him your paragraph devoted to the castle and say, “See, Tom knows what I’m talking about.” I am a big fan of forced perspective, but clearly that “castle” did not display this useful trick of the eye. Truth be told, I was a little underwhelmed at the New Fantasyland. We did enjoy the Be Our Guest restaurant, but there’s not much past that. I look forward to the mine cart roller coaster opening. New Fantasyland desperately needs an E-ticket attraction.

  14. Tyler says:

    The term “baby faces” makes me chuckle.

    • Tom Bricker says:

      You caught me. That portion of the review was actually just a subtle paid placement for the new soon-to-be-hit film Gangster Squad. In theaters January 11, 2013!!! 😉

  15. Tom B. says:

    Tom, great name by the way! I must say that you have posted some amazing photos and I have to thank my wife for introducing me to your blog. It is also very appreciated on our end when a blogger gives honest opinions and reviews without the previously discussed bias.

    We had the pleasure of dining at Be Our Guest for lunch on Nov. 11 last year during the Passholder previews. We ate in the West Wing and were so pleased with that decision. It’s the hand’s-down winner of the three.

    As for the meal itself, I was very impressed. I had the grilled steak sandwich and could not have been more pleased with the flavor and the portion size. It’s quite large. I also substitued the fries for the green beans which were also delicious and much healthier. My wife had the tuna salad and was equally pleased with her choice although I’m certain she didn’t remain full nearly as long as I did. We also decided to split an order of the potato leek soup. This is really where the meal shined. Talk about delicious! The next time you dine there you should try it. It really should be highlighted on the menu.

    I do agree with you on Beast’s Castle, it does seem a little off. Conversely, I think the did a remarkable job on Prince Eric’s castle.

    • Tom Bricker says:

      Jeez, it’s really sounding like I picked the worst possible thing from the menu. Looks like I have a whole list of things to try, now!

      I totally agree on Prince Eric’s Castle. It is absolutely awesome!!!

    • Angela B says:

      OMG< yes you have got to try that potato leak soup. MMMMMMM I cant wait to have it again next month. Me and my niece try to order different items and share so we can sample items on the menus but she is not getting my soup this year.

  16. Jen says:

    Wondering if anyone knows if traditional mac & cheese has been added to the kids menu. Heard it was in January 2013 – wondering if it’s true.

    • Shay says:

      Mac&Cheese has been added to the kids menu. My daughter and I ate there for Dinner when we went over Spring Break 2014. Depending on the child though it may not be enough to eat. She ordered the Mac&Cheese and it came with steamed broccoli. I had to get her something else to eat about an hour later. Neither one of us was impressed with the ‘grey stuff’ although the cream puff I had was delicious. It had a passion fruit cream on the inside that was very good.

  17. Sara says:

    I like the forced perspective. It totally draws me into the opening scene of the movie, plus I have to say I would be über disappointed if anything overshadows Cinderella’s Castle. I am really excited about what they did. It wit it though. This entire experience brings me back to my childhood. Just my opinion though.

  18. Ed Sutton says:

    The First Be Our Guest Proposal
    On 11/19/12 at 8:40 pm my girlfriend Tiffany and I had the privilege to eat dinner at Be Our Guest in Fantasy land at Walt Disney World Orlando, We were greeted at the bridge that led to the castle and escorted to the hostess who in turn took us to our seats. The napkins were red and folded into the shape of a rose bud.

    Our server Amber was cheerful and very attentive, she brought our drinks right away, which seemed bottomless as she kept them filled at all times. We ordered the French Onion Soup which was excellent great texture, aroma, the cheese was not burnt, and it was not too salty. After the appetizers, Amber let us know that the Beast was going to retire for the evening in about 30 mins, we did not have any clue that we had a photo opportunity and she made sure we did not miss it. After the photos with the beast we were able to walk around the castle and take photos and experience it in all it’s glory. Tiffany was worried we would return to cold food, but as we returned to the table Amber asked if we wanted her to put in our dinners in to be cooked, This gave Tiffany and me enough time to talk and just enjoy the experience. We ordered the steak and it came out very quickly with French fries and green beans. The steak was hot and cooked to perfection, the green beans were hot and still had a little snap to them. It was amazing how much attention Amber paid to our table and her ability to judge our time and body language was second to none.

    After Dinner she brought out the dessert cart and Tiffany gotten the Chocolate Dessert which was a moist cupcake with a rich chocolate icing and creamy chocolate filling. And she brought out “The Grey Stuff” desert, which was delicious.

    The hospitality was excellent, I had brought an Enchanted Rose replica as gift for Tiffany. Since it contained glass it had to go threw security, Hospitality Services then delivered to the restaurant. The Manager asked how and when I wanted to present Tiffany my present. The manager put it together in the back and it was delivered to the table on cue.

    Amber our server filmed the event for us on our camera and also filmed when I presented Tiffany the ring and proposed to her. We did not feel at any time that the extra attention and help was an imposition. Their excitement and enthusiasm made our engagement the best and I believe the first ever at he Be Our Guest Restaurant. I would like to Thank Amber, the staff at the restaurant, Holly and all the girls at guest services for all there help.

  19. Lisa says:

    We loved be our guest! We had dinner there in Dec and were seated in the west wing right in front of the enchanted rose! Seriously the BEST table in the whole place! Dinner was magical, my hubby had the steak, daughter the kids chicken and I had the rataouille. It was all delicious! Following the Brickers lead on cupcake consumption we devoured four different desserts between the hubby and I! We loved them all! This is our new favorite restaurant in MK and we will be dining there again in Dec if we can!

  20. michelle says:

    We just ate there for the first time on Tuesday & loved it. We had lunch and while the line outside seemed ridiculously long it actually moved along pretty quickly. My husband got the roast beef sandwich & I got the turkey and we shared. I thought they were both really good!
    I wish we had walked around more prior to picking a seat. I agree the west wing is the coolest part & I definitely want to eat in there next time!!

  21. Jean says:

    I ate at BOG for lunch in April and really enjoyed the experience and the food. The only downside was the long wait, 30 to 45 minutes to get through the line and place our order. I don’t know if anybody else likes the automated screens used to order food in BOG, but I think it took much longer than ordering from a cast member. As my daughter pointed out, what would you do if you wanted to customize your order, as “hold the mayo” or something? Anyway, we ate in the ballroom, as we wanted to get seated quickly and didn’t see any tables in the west wing. There might have been some, but it was fairly dark, and we just wanted to find a table and sit down. We were lucky to be seated by the huge windows and could look out and see the “snow” gently falling. It is an interesting effect. I didn’t even notice the faces of the cherubs, as it wasn’t very bright in there. Once seated, we enjoyed having the food delivered right to our table (a step up from most quick-service meals), and we also enjoyed the ambiance. We all thought our meals were delicious and substantial. I had a healthy portion of the pork and thought it was quite good. It was an enjoyable experience, but next time I would consider getting a dinner reservation, and I would try to find a table in the west wing. Finally, I think the castle on top helped set the mood and looks quite real in my photos, although I know it’s small. It doesn’t really make sense to see it up on top, then walk in the door and be in the castle, but I still think it looked fine, as though it is far off, and my photos of a waterfall also look as though we are in the mountains, so I thought all of that helped set the scene. We didn’t go into Belle’s cottage, but we did enjoy LeFou’s brew at Gaston’s Tavern later in the day.

  22. Thomas says:

    I agree with some of this review, but heavily disagree with other parts. The wait is pretty accurate, you are dead on with the creepy babies, and also the idea of it being a gargantuan space. That aside, I liked the entire look of the castle. It was well in perspective, the theme was overall perfect, and the attention to detail was there.

    As for the food, I had the braised pork which was very filling. I eat a decent amount of food, and I thought it was a very tasty and nice size portion for the 11.99 price. As for the strawberry cupcake, I did not find it dry as there was some sort of cream toward the bottom and icing on top. My wife had the tuna salad, which was also delicious, but she said it was not as good as my lunch after having tasted a bite of it.

    Overall, I don’t understand the giant lines for this restaurant, but the food and scenery were worth the thirty minute wait or so.

  23. Dan says:

    My family and I ate here for dinner and lunch on consecutive days the last of Aug. We loved it, especially the 2 women (my DD and DW). The babies did not elicit much of a response from either of them but that may be due to the fact that everything (almost) else was so overwhelming. I tried to get an ADR here for 6 months after making our hotel ressies, trying every day. It was not until 3 days before our trip that there was an opening. The wait for lunch was about 15 minutes at 11:15, and then another 10 minutes or so once inside. Our waitress was great, explaining everything about the restaurant, and encouraging us to explore. She even told us when Beast would make his entrance and where. I don’t remember what the girls ate, but I had the steak, and it was perfect. We had the chocolate cupcake for dessert, and that was also delicious. The only negative we could find was the restrooms are woefully small for a restaurant of this size. Overall, we are glad we got the opportunity to dine here, twice in fact, as my DS arrived the next day from college and we did lunch here with him and 2 of his CM friends (DS did the CP program a year ago). I had the ruben, and it was waaay too much food for me. My DS had the roast beef sandwich, as did his 2 friends, and the 3 of them declared it delicious. We all left very full. Overall, a very nice time.

  24. Nate says:

    Two observations: 1) I wholeheartedly agree that the castle is way too small for the forced perspective effect to work. Maybe, since it’s so small and presumedly easy to remove, they’ll replace it at some point with one that has a better effect.

    2) From the pictures, those cupcakes seem kind of small. Regardless, I think they demonstrate just how good of a deal School Bread is. If those cupcakes are a good deal at $2.99 (which, considering prices at WDW, they are), then $2.69 for School Bread is the deal of the century.

    By the way Tom, thanks for turning me on to that. It’s delicious.

  25. Amy says:

    Last Feb 2 friends and I waited in line, mostly outside in the cold wind and rain under one of those super tiny collapseable totes umbrellas that you could fit in your back pocket, for at least 50 minutes to eat lunch at be our guest. All 3 of us agreed it was worth it. Would we choose to go early to lunch in stead of late to lunch next time? Of course! But all agreed, totally worth it. Also try the cream puffs. The passion fruit one is to die for.

  26. Tori says:

    I’m not sure how long it will last, but for the past few months, you can skip the line entirely at lunch with a Be Our Guest fastpass reservation. You can even pre-order and be escorted directly into the ballroom to select your table. We ate there January 2. These opened up for our dates about three weeks before our trip and do not conflict with the 3 FP+ you get in the parks.

    https://beourguestlunch.disney.go.com/Login.asp

    They aren’t using the roses for guests with Magic Bands, so we didn’t get the rubber rose.

    The West Wing was my favorite room to visit, but would be my last choice to actually eat. The number of guests letting loose with their flashes in the very dark room just the few minutes were looking around was enough for me.

    My son had the turkey sandwich and really liked it. There is currently no steak sandwich available. The rest of us had the braised pork and found it delicious and just the right amount, as long as you have a cupcake afterwards!

  27. TeriAnn Denta says:

    We dined here for a 9pm dinner in October and a lunch the week of Christmas. I agree with everything you said, especially the forced perspective of the castle.

    We ate so late that I didn’t really enjoy the evening meal. I think it was just too late to eat but the ambience was great. Our lunch visit was very nice. I ordered the kid’s meal braised pork and it was a nice sized serving. My husband had the adult entree of the same item and also found it to be a good value for the amount of food. My Mother ordered the kid’s meal turkey sandwich and it was way too small. She was hungry soon after eating.

    Thanks for your continued great reviews,
    A fellow Hoosier!

  28. obviously like your web-site however you have to take a look at the
    spelling on quite a few of your posts. A number of them are
    rife with spelling problems and I to find it very
    bothersome to tell the truth however I’ll definitely come again again.

  29. What a material of un-ambiguity and preserveness of valuable experience
    concerning unexpected feelings.

  30. missy guillory says:

    Can you just tour the castle? Food doesn’t look too tempting for the little ones. Is there a breakfast?

  31. Julie says:

    This website is like a disney addict support group. I love everything you post, and go by/use most stuff you mention! Thanks!

  32. Julie Olson says:

    We ate in at BOG in Dec. We ate in the West Wing. Our 6 year old chatted the entire dinner explaining all the stories she saw around her. WOW Upon leaving the castle, she looked back and said “We weren’t really in the castle”. Now, that didn’t tarnish the experience for her, but, out of the mouths of babes!!!!

    • Tom Bricker says:

      Haha, that’s great. I probably would have just tried to play it cool and been like, “What do you mean? We were in the West Wing!”

  33. jennifer says:

    Had dinner at be our guest the other night and it was a mixed evening of good and bad. It seems its best to get a fast pass for lunch this way you see the rooms pick your table and not pay to much for the experience. Glad i went once but would not likey return.

  34. Carrie says:

    I am planning a trip for September of this year and trying to reach up on all the comments I can. Need to make ADR tomorrow. lol After reading here, it is my understanding that the BOG isn’t even in a castle? Is that correct? I thought this would be a great alternative to the CRT, but now that might not be the case. We are taking out 6 year old to WDW for the 1st time. I am planning her BBB makeover prior to dinner and wanted to jump and get a dinner res at one of the “castles”. What are your thoughts between the 2 (BOG and CRT)? Thanks!

    • Carrie says:

      *trying to research

    • Tom Bricker says:

      The setting is supposed to be inside Beast’s Castle, but it does not feel like a castle, nor are you actually inside one.

      If you are looking for a castle experience, Cinderella’s Royal Table is absolutely the way to go.

  35. Katie says:

    What time does Be Our Guest open? And what time do you suggest getting into line for lunch?

  36. LeeSandra says:

    I am absolutely shocked. Our trip starts on May 26th and I was able to get a dinner reservation to BOG on May 27th this morning for 2. Don’t know how it happened, but I am extremely excited to try it. These pictures are gorgeous (as are all of your photos) and I can’t wait to see it in person.

  37. Kay says:

    I ate here summer of 2013! I plan on going back! I thought it was great! I did feel like I was in a Castle! We took pictures and walked around looking at the different rooms. Is the experience as good as Cinderellas Castle! NO! But.. I saw several children dressed for the occasion just like they do at Cinderellas castle! Even if your doing Cinderellas Castle I would recommend this, too! This would be a far better choice for counter service than sitting at at Pecos Bills or Casey’s with a hot dog with a little girl dressed up! If you can not afford Cinderellas castle this would be a good second choice. Then see the Princess and take pictures with the fast pass later and for free! I thought it was neat that Disney had created a castle allowing parents to bring their children without spending a $100 or more for a meal! Wonder how long that will last? LOL! I did not wait long to eat because we arrived before it opened for lunch! As far as LeFou’s brew at Gaston’s Tavern I hated it! To sweet for me! I shared one with my daughter and I took a few sips and she drank the rest! She obviously liked it! LOL! I could walk past Gaston’s without ever stopping! LOL!

  38. Kay says:

    I ate here summer of 2013! I plan on going back! I thought it was great! I did feel like I was in a Castle! We took pictures and walked around looking at the different rooms. Is the experience as good as Cinderellas Castle! NO! But.. I saw several children dressed for the occasion just like they do at Cinderellas castle! Even if your doing Cinderellas Castle I would recommend this, too! This would be a far better choice for counter service than sitting at at Pecos Bills or Casey’s with a hot dog with a little girl dressed up! If you can not afford Cinderellas castle this would be a good second choice. Then see the Princess and take pictures with the fast pass later and for free! I thought it was neat that Disney had created a castle allowing parents to bring their children without spending a $100 or more for a meal! Wonder how long that will last? LOL! I did not wait long to eat because we arrived before it opened for lunch! As far as the brew at the Tavern I hated it! To sweet for me! I shared one with my daughter and I took a few sips and she drank the rest! She obviously liked it! LOL! I could walk past Gaston’s without ever stopping! LOL!

  39. Mike says:

    I agree that lunch is the right option if you are on the dining plan. We have done both (dinner 2 weeks after it opened) and lunch twice. The Braised pork is superb. The experience is about the same for lunch or dinner as The Master (beast) as he is called is available during dinner. Better to save your table credit and try a different restaurant, maybe one you haven’t tried before, which I what we try to do.

  40. Great page, really been browsing forever for tips on the very best rattan furniture pieces
    for our home and in our back garden. The website really helpedgreat blog some great info here

    Here is my page … Rattan Dining Sets By Port Royal

  41. Donnell says:

    Great web site, really been looking forever for ideas on the perfect rattan furnishings for our
    home and in our garden. This website really helpedgreat blog some great info here

    Here is my blog post; port royal rattan daybeds
    Donnell

  42. Marcus says:

    We had a kind of bad experience with BOG today (Monday 11/10/14). We went with our four young daughters to get in line at 11:00 am and instead found cast members out by the bridge saying “the standby line is closed and we don’t know if it will reopen”. My wife quizzed them to try to understand what this meant. They said if there are a certain number of fastpass plus reservations then “there are no tables” and there was also no way to stand in line to wait standby. This was very disappointing for us because our daughters were really looking forward to the experience.

    This is something that I think needs to be fixed by Disney. If the restaurant can be reserved for lunch, that should be enabled via Disney Dining, instead of this confusing system of fastpass for lunch and a different system for dinner.

    And if they do stick with this system for lunch, they should still manage a standby line for people who want to wait.

    Heads up in case you want to do BOG for lunch! :)

    • Alasdair says:

      This is just the way it is. The FP+ system is a bit sad in my opinion, because spontaneity is almost impossible, but it’s the rules of the game. If you really want to do something you have to plan it and use it as an FP choice or book an ADR as appropriate.

  43. Steve H. says:

    We were fortunate to snag an ADR for dinner on our first trip to Disney World on Oct. 27. It took a lot of persistence but it finally paid off and about 30 days out we got it. I thought the experience was wonderful as did the rest of my family. No, it’s not a five star French restaurant but they really try to bring you as much of a fine dining experience as you want to have. We thought the food, especially the lamb rack, was outstanding. We had a great bottle of Beaujolais with our meal. The ambience in the ballroom is simply enchanting (but yes loud). The desserts were good…we had the grey stuff and strawberry cupcake. Our waiter was very helpful and courteous. Afterwards we had our pictures taken with Beast. This was, in our opinion, the best dining experience of our trip. If you are going to restaurants like Victoria & Albert’ s or Monsieur Paul you may turn a chin up to Be Our Guest, but for the average park-goer just looking for a great dining experience based on a beloved Disney movie, this is all you could ever want!

  44. Lauren says:

    I just wanted to throw this out there- If you can’t get in for a dinner reservation, as we couldn’t, check the morning of for cancellations that night. We attempted to do lunch but they were full (and it was only 11am) The lovely hostess recommended talking another hostess who had last minute cancellations, we were able to eat dinner and I have to say it was the best meal we ate during our trip. Also make sure to ask your server what they turn into at night, our’s was a Grandfather clock!

  45. reexchanges says:

    I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your site. Do you ever
    run into any internet browser compatibility problems? A small number of
    my blog visitors have complained about my blog not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera.

    Do you have any advice to help fix this problem?

  46. Tammy says:

    If you thought the adult entrees were small, you should see the kids entrees! We love BOG but have found we need to have the kids split adult meals. The kids steak dinner has a steak the size of a pink pearl eraser! It wasn’t enough food for even the 4 year old.

  47. Ashley Jordan says:

    After reading your “West Wing Update,” I must confirm your suspicions. My daughter (4) chose a table in the West Wing, loved the dim lighting, and was enchanted with the rose. Then the thunder and lightning storm began. Terrified shrieks and tears ensued, and we rushed to another table (in the Rose Gallery…I was having nothing to do with those creepy babies, either). This was from a girl who braved Thunder Mountain and Everest, and whose favorite part of the trip was Villains’ Mix & Mingle at MNSSHP. The West Wing is amazing, but you were correct in imagining that it may scare little ones!

    • Tom Bricker says:

      Sorry to hear that my suspicions were confirmed. It’s a really awesome place, but you never know what might scare kids. Hope you still had a good meal!

  48. Brooke D says:

    I had the ratatouille and it was delicious! I also liked the rolls. :)

  49. Ashley says:

    I agree with you on the perspective.

    The only reason I loved how the castle was set up is because the castle in the film, I believe, was on higher ground with a waterfall, just like it is in the park. But it is a little awkward to walk in this sort of cave-like entrance, and try to pretend you’re in the castle ahaha.
    But I suppose with a kid, if they were actually skeptical, it’d be easy to tell them it’s an enchanted door that sends you into the castle . . . or something.

    I’m in love with this restaurant. The moment I heard the concept and what it would be called, I was in love, so I might seem biased seeing as how I’m automatically a fan due to the fact that it has the ballroom and the West Wing. (I like to see the Rose Gallery as the place where the actual Be Our Guest song happened, but I am pretty sure that’s not intended lol)

    I hope it stays a quick-service restaurant at lunch because I think it is one of the things that makes it unique, and it’s nice to have it there for people who can’t do the dinner experience.

    Though I have to say, I’m not sure if you’ve gone for dinner, but it is a much more incredible experience at dinner. I had dinner in the ballroom, had the potato leek soup, pan-seared chicken, and then the grey stuff for dessert, which comes on a cookie-like brownie.
    The server I had was absolutely incredible, offering to help us get reservations in the future and even gave our emails to the chef for some of the recipes! My friend who was with me mentioned that we had tried to go for my birthday and couldn’t, and our server took it upon themselves to bring me another plate of grey stuff and sing me happy birthday.

    The restaurant’s food and service is really great (though I might have just been lucky with that particular server) and even at lunch, it’s truly enjoyable. I can never get anything but the turkey sandwich because I love it so much, and it’s a lot more food than I typically get when I’m paying for quick service.

    I’d probably agree with your rating for both times of day. 9.5/10.
    It’s a must-do :)

  50. Julia says:

    HI there!
    I was wondering if you can help me with my couple of questions…

    I have two reservations at BOG for my family,including our 7 year old princess. Trying to choose what to keep and what to cancel…

    What’s the main difference between the Lunch at 1:10 PM & the Dinner at 4:55 PM(not talking about the menu)at the BOG?

    Thank you very much.

    • Ty says:

      I too have reservations for both lunch (11:00am) and dinner (7:30pm) on the same day and I am so excited to try both; as I understand that both experiances are very different. (Never been to either yet)

      Julia, what I plan to do is have a very light lunch (soup & dessert) than a full dinner. So my recommendation is keep both reservations and enjoy both experiences.

      Have Fun!!

  51. Hello to every body, it’s my first pay a visit of this website; this webpage carries remarkabloe aand iin fqct fine
    stuff designed for readers.

  52. Useful info. Fortunate me I found your site unintentionally, and I am stunned why this coincidence did not came about earlier!
    I bookmarked it.

  53. John says:

    The only lunch reservation we could get is 1:50 which makes it tight to see the 3pm Festival of Fantasy Parade. This may seem like a silly question but can we arrive before our reservation (say 1pm or so) to look at the sights to save us time? and then eat and get out of there by 230? Is this doable or do I sound like a total newbie (which I am)?

  54. Rachel K says:

    This was a great review! My husband and I heavily relied on your reviews for a few trips to WDW and our most recent trip to Disneyland, and this was the most accurate (for us) review I’ve encountered.
    I think I have a bad taste in my mouth for trusting anyone though after making reservations and paying out the nose for 3 bites of bad food at Resteraunts Merekesh. Everyone was all about the place, I was convinced it would be the best food Eva. Mistake. But. I got to see Neil Patrick Harris. All was well after I had a rice Krispy treat for dinner.
    Anyway. This here is totally on point. When we saw the menus I had to do a double take at weather it was counter service or table service. I wouldn’t be surprised if they made both lunch and dinner table service. I think I may prefer it.

    Note – that fact that you abbreviated “YMMV” had me wake the dogs with laughter. After reading so many reviews, when trying to figure out a place for dinner in Disneyland earlier this week I said the words “your mileage may very” followed by a ‘wth just came out of my mouth?’ Look to the husband. It was great.

    Super grateful for the effort you and Sarah take to create these reviews. Even if our MMV.

  55. Stephanie says:

    Planning a trip- the first with the new Fantasyland.

    Question: Can you just go into Be Our Guest to look at it or do you have to eat to see it? I am concerned about getting reservations from all the blogs I am reading!I don’t really HAVE to eat there. However, as an avid BB fan, I HAVE to see it!!!

    Also, is it true that if you can sing Be Our Guest at the restaurant then you have access to another menu??

    Thanks for your help!

  56. Great info. Lucky me I found your blog by chance (stumbleupon).
    I have bookmarked it for later!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 101 Delicious Disney World Dining Tips - Disney Tourist Blog - […] will want to make a FastPass+ reservation for Be Our Guest Restaurant at lunch. Not only is it our …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>